

STANDING COMMITTEE ON STATE DEVELOPMENT

Inquiry into animal welfare policy in New South Wales

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That the Standing Committee on State Development inquire into and report on the State's animal welfare policy, regulatory and legislative framework, including any measures required to:
 - (a) streamline animal welfare laws in New South Wales,
 - (b) reduce and remove unnecessary regulation, and
 - (c) ensure existing policy and regulatory arrangements remain appropriately balanced.
- 2. That upon its publication in December 2021, the Committee review the proposed Exposure Draft *Animal Welfare Bill 2021*, developed following the NSW Animal Welfare Reform Discussion Paper.
- 3. The Committee provide an interim report by 30 May 2022.¹
- 4. That upon their publication, the Committee inquire into and report on the draft regulations associated with the proposed Animal Welfare Bill 2021.
- 5. The Committee table its final report as soon as practicable after the release of the draft Regulations.

The terms of reference were referred to the committee by the Minister for Agriculture and Western New South Wales on 25 November 2021 and adopted by the Committee on 30 November 2021.

_

The original reporting date was 30 May 2022 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 22 May 2022, pp 2962-2963). The reporting date was later extended to 15 June 2022 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 10 May 2022, p 3235).

Committee membership

| Hon Aileen MacDonald MLC* | Liberal Party | Chair |
|---------------------------|-------------------------------------|--------------|
| Hon Mick Veitch MLC | Australian Labor Party | Deputy Chair |
| Hon Mark Banasiak MLC | Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party | |
| Hon Scott Barrett MLC** | The Nationals | |
| Ms Abigail Boyd MLC*** | The Greens | |
| Hon John Graham MLC | Australian Labor Party | |
| Hon Emma Hurst MLC**** | Animal Justice Party | |
| Hon Taylor Martin MLC**** | Liberal Party | |
| Hon Chris Rath MLC***** | Liberal Party | |

- * The Hon Aileen MacDonald MLC replaced the Hon Catherine Cusack MLC as a substantive member of the committee and as Chair of the committee from 16 August 2022. The Hon Catherine Cusack MLC was a substantive member of the committee and Chair of the committee to 9 August 2022.
- ** The Hon Scott Barrett MLC replaced the Hon Scott Farlow MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 1 March 2022. The Hon Scott Farlow MLC replaced the Hon Sam Farraway MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022 to 1 March 2022.
- *** Ms Abigail Boyd is a participating member from 9 December 2021 for the duration of the inquiry.
- **** The Hon Emma Hurst MLC substituted for the Hon Mark Pearson MLC for the duration of the inquiry on 26 November 2021.
- ***** The Hon Taylor Martin MLC replaced the Hon West Fang MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 8 March 2022.
- ****** The Hon Chris Rath MLC replaced the Hon Peter Poulos MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 21 February 2023. The Hon Peter Poulos MLC replaced the Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022.