

SELECT COMMITTEE ON PUPPY FARMING IN NEW SOUTH WALES

Inquiry into puppy farming in New South Wales

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on puppy farming in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) the provisions of the Companion Animals Amendment (Puppy Farms) Bill 2021,
 - (b) the animal protection issues associated with puppy farming,
 - (c) the consumer protection issues associated with the sale of dogs from puppy farms online and in pet shops,
 - (d) the adequacy of the current legislative and enforcement framework, including the Animal Welfare Code of Practice Breeding of Dogs and Cats,
 - (e) the extent to which the recommendations of the 2015 Joint Select Committee on Companion Animal Breeding Practices in NSW have been implemented by the NSW Government,
 - (f) the impact of the NSW Government Consultation Paper 'Licensing and regulation of cat and dog breeders',
 - (g) the impact and effectiveness of the NSW Government 'Puppy Factory Taskforce' announced on 23 October 2020,
 - (h) the impact and effectiveness the Domestic Animals Amendment (Puppy Farm and Pet Shops) Act 2017 (Vic) on puppy farming in Victoria, and the consequences for the puppy farming industry in NSW,
 - (i) the challenges faced by local councils in respect to development applications for puppy farms,
 - (j) legislative and other measures that could be implemented to stop or reduce puppy farming in NSW, and
 - (k) any other related matter.

The terms of reference were referred to the committee by the Legislative Council on 24 November 2021.¹

Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 24 November 2021, pp 2846-2847.

Committee membership

Hon Mick Veitch MLC	Australian Labor Party	Chair
Hon Emma Hurst MLC	Animal Justice Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Lou Amato MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	
Ms Abigail Boyd MLC	The Greens	
Hon Wes Fang MLC*	The Nationals	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC**	Liberal Party	
Hon Adam Searle MLC	Australian Labor Party	

^{*} The Hon Wes Fang MLC replaced the Hon Ben Franklin MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022.

^{**} The Hon Shayne Mallard MLC replaced the Hon Catherine Cusack MLC a substantive member of the committee from 11 August 2022. The Hon Catherine Cusack MLC was a substantive member of the committee to 9 August 2022.