

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 3 - EDUCATION

## Inquiry into the planning and delivery of school infrastructure in New South Wales

## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No 3 Education inquire into and report on the planning and delivery of school infrastructure in New South Wales, and in particular:
  - (a) the implementation of recommendations of the 2021 Auditor-General's Report entitled 'Delivering School Infrastructure',
  - (b) the adequacy of plans by the NSW Government to deliver educational facilities for every NSW public school student,
  - (c) the adequacy of investment in new or upgraded infrastructure at existing NSW public schools and in new school projects, including:
    - (i) management,
    - (ii) planning,
    - (iii) design,
    - (iv) construction,
    - (v) maintenance, and
    - (vi) budgeting and expenditure of new projects,
  - (d) the role of local community organisations and groups in responding to the lack of or shortage of educational facilities at any NSW public school especially in areas of high growth and in proposed new suburbs,
  - (e) the adequacy of demographic planning for anticipated school enrolments,
  - (f) delays in converting new school announcements into site identification and school construction,
  - (g) specific planning for new schools and increased enrolments in Western Sydney, the Canada Bay local government area and on the far north coast,
  - (h) school design that promotes health and safety, and
  - (i) any other related matters.

1

2. That the committee report by 28 October 2022.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were self-referred by the committee on 14 October 2021.<sup>1</sup>

Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 14 October 2021, pp 2490-2491.

Committee membership

-

Hon Mark Latham MLC	Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party	Chair
Hon Wes Fang MLC	The Nationals	Deputy Chair
Ms Abigail Boyd MLC*	The Greens	
Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Scott Farlow MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Courtney Houssos MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Aileen MacDonald MLC**	Liberal Party	

\* Ms Abigail Boyd MLC replaced Mr David Shoebridge MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 22 April 2022. Mr David Shoebridge MLC was a substantive member of the committee to 11 April 2022.

\*\* The Hon Aileen MacDonald MLC replaced the Hon Catherine Cusack MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 16 August 2022. The Hon Catherine Cusack MLC was a substantive member of the committee to 9 August 2022.