

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Inquiry into the Integrity of the NSW Biodiversity Offsets Scheme

## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 7 Environment and Planning inquire into and report on the integrity of the NSW Biodiversity Offsets Scheme, and in particular:
  - (a) the effectiveness of the scheme to halt or reverse the loss of biodiversity values, including threatened species and threatened habitat in New South Wales, the role of the Biodiversity Conservation Trust in administering the scheme and whether the Trust is subject to adequate transparency and oversight,
  - (b) the use of offsets by the NSW Government for major projects and strategic approvals,
  - (c) the impact of non-additional offsetting practices on biodiversity outcomes, offset prices and the opportunities for private landowners to engage in the scheme, and
  - (d) any other related matters.

Ms Sue Higginson MLC*	The Greens	Chair
Hon Mark Pearson MLC	Animal Justice Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Scott Barrett MLC**	The Nationals	
Mr Justin Field MLC***	Independent	
Hon Rose Jackson MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Aileen MacDonald MLC****	Liberal Party	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Penny Sharpe MLC	Australian Labor Party	

## Committee membership

\* Ms Sue Higginson MLC replaced Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 28 June 2022 and was appointed Chair of the committee on 20 July 2022. Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC was a substantive member and Chair of the committee to 20 June 2022.

\*\* The Hon Scott Barrett MLC replaced the Hon Peter Poulos MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 1 March 2022. The Hon Peter Poulos MLC replaced the Hon Ben Franklin MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022 to 1 March 2022.

\*\*\* Mr Justin Field MLC is a participating member from 13 August 2021 for the duration of the inquiry.

\*\*\*\* The Hon Aileen MacDonald MLC replaced the Hon Catherine Cusack MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 16 August 2022. The Hon Catherine Cusack MLC was a substantive member of the committee to 9 August 2022.