

## LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SELECT COMMITTEE ON FLOODPLAIN HARVESTING

## Inquiry into Floodplain Harvesting

## TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on the Government's management of floodplain harvesting, including:
  - (a) the legality of floodplain harvesting practices,
  - (b) the water regulations published on 30 April 2021
  - (c) how floodplain harvesting can be licensed, regulated, metered and monitored so that it is sustainable and meets the objectives of the Water Management Act 2000 and the Murray-Darling Basin Plan and,
  - (d) any other related matter.
  - 2. That the committee report by 30 November 2021.<sup>1</sup>

## Committee membership

Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC	The Greens	Chair
The Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	Deputy Chair
The Hon Lou Amato MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Sam Farraway MLC	The Nationals	
The Hon Ben Franklin MLC	The Nationals	
The Hon Rose Jackson MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Penny Sharpe MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Mick Veitch MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Adam Searle MLC*	Australian Labor Party	

<sup>\*</sup> The Hon Adam Searle MLC is a participating member from 10 July 2021 for the duration of the inquiry.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The original reporting date was 30 November 2021 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 23 June 2021, pp 2353 - 2355). The reporting date was later extended to 15 December 2021 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 19 October 2021, p 2505).