

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL ISSUES

Review of the Heritage Act 1977

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That the Standing Committee on Social Issues inquire into and report on the *Heritage Act 1977* (NSW) (the Act), with particular reference to:
 - (a) the need for legislative change to deliver a heritage system that is modern, effective and reflects best practice heritage conservation, activation and celebration
 - (b) the adequacy of the Act in meeting the needs of customers and the community and the protection of heritage
 - (c) how the Act could more effectively intersect with related legislation, such as heritage elements of the *Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979* and the *National Parks and Wildlife Act 1974*
 - (d) the issues raised and focus questions posed in the Government's Discussion Paper, in particular:
 - (i) a category approach to heritage listing to allow for more nuanced and targeted recognition and protection of the diversity of State significant heritage items
 - (ii) consideration of new supports to incentivise heritage ownership, conservation, adaptive reuse, activation and investment
 - (iii) improvements to heritage compliance and enforcement provisions
 - (iv) streamlining heritage processes
 - (e) any other related matter.

Committee membership

The Hon Peter Poulos MLC*	Liberal Party	Chair
The Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC**	Australian Labor Party	Deputy Chair
The Hon Ben Franklin MLC	The Nationals	
The Hon Shayne Mallard MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Taylor Martin MLC	Liberal Party	
Revd The Hon Fred Nile MLC	Christian Democratic Party	
The Hon Peter Primrose MLC***	Australian Labor Party	
Mr David Shoebridge MLC****	The Greens	

* The Hon Peter Poulos MLC replaced the Hon Natalie Ward MLC as a substantive member of the committee and appointed as Chair from 16 June 2021.

** The Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC replaced the Hon Daniel Mookhey MLC as a substantive member and Deputy Chair of the committee from 21 June 2021.

^{***} The Hon Peter Primrose MLC replaced the Hon Rose Jackson MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 21 June 2021.

^{****} Mr David Shoebridge MLC substituted for Ms Abigail Boyd MLC for the duration of the inquiry.