

#### LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

# SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE CORONIAL JURISDICTION IN NEW SOUTH WALES

# Inquiry into the coronial jurisdiction in New South Wales

# **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

- 1. That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on the coronial jurisdiction in New South Wales, and in particular:
  - (a) the law, practice and operation of the Coroner's Court of NSW, including:
    - (i) the scope and limits of its jurisdiction,
    - (ii) the adequacy of its resources,
    - (iii) the timeliness of its decisions,
    - (iv) the outcomes of recommendations made, including the mechanisms for oversighting whether recommendations are implemented,
    - (v) the ability of the court to respond to the needs of culturally and linguistically diverse and First Nations families and communities,
    - (vi) the operational arrangements in support of the Coroner's Court with the NSW Police Force and the Ministry of Health,
    - (b) whether, having regard to coronial law, practice and operation in other Australian and relevant overseas jurisdictions, any changes to the coronial jurisdiction in New South Wales are desirable or necessary,
    - (c) the most appropriate institutional arrangements for the coronial jurisdiction in New South Wales, including whether it should be a standalone court, an autonomous division of the Local Court, or some other arrangement, and
    - (d) any other related matter.
- 2. That the committee report by 29 April 2022.<sup>1</sup>

-

The original reporting date was end of December 2021 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 6 May 2021, pp 2135-2136). The reporting date was later extended to 29 April 2022 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 13 October 2021, p 2455).

# Committee membership

Hon Adam Searle MLC	Australian Labor Party	Chair
Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC***	The Greens	Deputy Chair
Hon Catherine Cusack MLC*	Liberal Party	
Hon Peter Poulos MLC**	Liberal Party	
Hon Rod Roberts MLC	Pauline Hanson's One Nation	
Hon Penny Sharpe MLC	Australian Labor Party	

<sup>\*</sup> The Hon Catherine Cusack MLC replaced the Hon Natalie Ward MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 23 June 2021.

<sup>\*\*</sup> The Hon Peter Poulos MLC replaced the Hon Trevor Khan MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022. The Hon Trevor Khan MLC was a substantive member of the committee to 6 January 2022.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC replaced Mr David Shoebridge MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 31 March 2022.