

## LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 6 – TRANSPORT

## Inquiry into road tolling regimes

## TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 6 Transport and Customer Service inquire into and report on matters relating to tolling regimes for roads in New South Wales including:
  - (a) an updated review of the tolling regimes in place on different roads and an explanation for the differences between each,
  - (b) the total cost paid by drivers in tolls for the WestConnex toll road over the life of its contract, and across New South Wales to 2060, and the extent to which this represents value for money,<sup>1</sup>
  - (c) the impact, and the geographical distribution of the impact, of toll costs on NSW drivers and on productivity,
  - (d) the extent of toll relief provided in NSW and whether it is adequate,
  - (e) opportunities to increase transparency for the public, particularly over how tolling contracts are negotiated and varied, and the extent to which tolls are paid,
  - (f) the rationale for allowing higher than CPI increases on certain tolls, and for the truck toll being set at three times the toll for car traffic,
  - (g) the ability or otherwise of trucking businesses to afford increases in tolling charges and the extent or otherwise of their ability to pass this through,
  - (h) opportunities to increase the assurance to the public that tolling arrangements represent the fairest possible outcome, including the appropriateness of involving an independent agency such as Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) in the determination of tolls and their escalation,
  - (i) the long term impact on government finances as a result of toll roads being wholly or partly operated by non-government entities,
  - (j) consideration of the impact of direct or debt financing of road projects, including what would have been the impact on regional road projects of the direct financing of WestConnex, and
  - (k) any other related matter.

\_

On 10 December 2021, the committee resolved to amend paragraph 1(b) by inserting 'and across New South Wales to 2060'.

## Committee membership

Ms Abigail Boyd MLC	The Greens	Chair
Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Wes Fang MLC*	The Nationals	
Hon John Graham MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC**	Liberal Party	
Hon Daniel Mookhey MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Chris Rath MLC***	Liberal Party	

- \* The Hon Wes Fang MLC replaced the Hon Lou Amato MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 1 March 2022. The Hon Lou Amato MLC replaced the Hon Sam Farraway MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022 to 1 March 2022.
- \*\* The Hon Shayne Mallard MLC replaced the Hon Scott Farlow MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 29 March 2022
- \*\*\* The Hon Chris Rath MLC replaced the Hon Don Harwin MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 29 March 2022. The Hon Don Harwin MLC was a substantive member of the committee to 22 March 2022. The Hon Don Harwin MLC replaced the Hon Shayne Mallard MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022.