PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE

## Inquiry into the impact of the Western Harbour Tunnel and Beaches Link

## TERMS OF REFERENCE

That the Public Works Committee inquire into and report on the impact of the Western Harbour Tunnel and Beaches Link Project, including each of its constituent parts being the Warringah freeway upgrade, the Western Harbour Tunnel and the Beaches Link, including:

- (a) the adequacy of the business case for the project, including the cost benefits ratio,
- (b) the adequacy of the consideration of alternative options,
- (c) the cost of the project, including the reasons for overruns,
- (d) the consideration of the governance and structure of the project including the use of a 'development partner' model,
- (e) the extent to which the project is meeting the original goals of the project,
- (f) the consultation methods and effectiveness, both with affected communities and stakeholders,
- (g) the extent to which changes in population growth, work and travel patterns due to the Covid-19 pandemic have impacted on the original cost benefit ratio,
- (h) whether the NSW Government should publish the base-case financial model and benefit cost ratio for the for the project and its component parts,
- (i) whether the project is subject to the appropriate levels of transparency and accountability that would be expected of a project delivered by a public sector body,
- (j) the impact on the environment, including marine ecosystems,
- (k) the adequacy of processes for accessing and responding to noise, vibration and other impacts on residents, during construction and operationally,
- (l) the impact of the project on nearby public sites, including Yurulbin Point and Dawn Fraser Baths, and
- (m) any other related matter.

## Committee membership

Hon Daniel Mookhey MLC	Australian Labor Party	Chair
Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Lou Amato MLC*	Liberal Party	
Ms Abigail Boyd MLC	The Greens	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Tara Moriarty MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Peter Poulos MLC**	Liberal Party	

<sup>\*</sup> The Hon Lou Amato MLC replaced the Hon Wes Fang MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 1 March 2022. The Hon Wes Fang MLC replaced the Hon Trevor Khan MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022 to 1 March 2022. The Hon Trevor Khan MLC was a substantive member of the committee to 6 January 2022.

<sup>\*\*</sup> The Hon Peter Poulos MLC replaced the Hon Taylor Martin MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 1 March 2022. The Hon Taylor Martin MLC replaced the Hon Sam Farraway MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022 to 1 March 2022.