

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 6 – TRANSPORT

Inquiry into the acquisition of land in relation to major transport projects

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 6 Transport and Customer Service inquire into and report on the acquisition of land by Transport for New South Wales and related agencies in relation to major transport projects, with particular reference to:
 - (a) the response of agencies to the Russell and Pratt Reviews into the Land Acquisition (Just Terms Compensation) Act 1991,
 - (b) the conduct of agencies in acquiring:
 - (i) land for the WestConnex Project,
 - (ii) land for metropolitan rail projects,
 - (iii) land for any project related to the Western Sydney Airport,
 - (iv) land for the Parramatta Light Rail Projects (Stages One and Two),
 - (v) land zoned as commercial land acquired between 2015 and 2020,
 - (vi) land for the North Wilton estate acquired by Landcom,
 - (vii) any other specific land acquisitions that may give rise to community concerns about current government process
 - (c) how government agencies identify land for acquisition and the extent to which the price of the land and the identity of landowners are taken into account when determining the route and sites for such projects,
 - (d) how government agencies conduct direct negotiations with landholders in relation to purchasing land/properties prior to, or in parallel with, the compulsory acquisition process, and the extent to which such process is fair, unbiased and equitable,
 - (e) the interaction of the planning, infrastructure and transport planning systems of government to support best practice outcomes for the NSW community,
 - (f) whether government agencies are adequately protecting the public against 'land-banking' and other speculative practices undertaken by persons or interests seeking to profit from future transport projects and rezoning decisions,
 - (g) whether, and what legislative or other measures should be taken by the government to capture the uplift in land/property value created as a result of such transport projects,

- (h) the conduct of agencies and government in relation to the determination of the route of the M9 (Outer Sydney Orbital), and
- (i) any other related matters.
- 2. That the Committee report by 12 August 2022.¹

Committee membership

Ms Abigail Boyd MLC	The Greens	Chair
Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Wes Fang MLC*	The Nationals	
Hon John Graham MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC**	Liberal Party	
Hon Daniel Mookhey MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Chris Rath MLC***	Liberal Party	

- * The Hon Wes Fang MLC replaced the Hon Lou Amato MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 1 March 2022. The Hon Lou Amato MLC replaced the Hon Sam Farraway MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022 to 1 March 2022. The Hon Taylor Martin MLC substituted for Hon Sam Farraway MLC from 19 April 2021 to 25 January 2022.
- ** The Hon Shayne Mallard MLC replaced the Hon Scott Farlow MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 29 March 2022.
- *** The Hon Chris Rath MLC replaced the Hon Don Harwin MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 29 March 2022. The Hon Don Harwin MLC was a substantive member of the committee to 22 March 2022. The Hon Don Harwin MLC replaced the Hon Shayne Mallard MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022.

Note: The Hon Mark Latham MLC was a participating member from 11 March 2021 to 29 April 2022.

The original reporting date was 1 March 2022 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 16 March 2021, p 1995).
The reporting date was later extended to 30 June 2022 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 23 February 2022, p 2963).
The reporting date was later extended to 12 August 2022 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 21 August 2022, p 3461).