## LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE GREYHOUND WELFARE AND INTEGRITY COMMISSION

## Inquiry into the Greyhound Welfare and Integrity Commission

## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on the Greyhound Welfare and Integrity Commission (the Commission) as the independent regulator of the greyhound industry in New South Wales, and in particular:

- (a) the policies, procedures, mechanisms, and overarching principles of the Commission in relation to industry participants,
- (b) the appropriateness of disciplinary action for those industry participants breaching legal requirements as set out by the Commission,
- (c) the options for appeal by industry participants who breach legal requirements as set out by the Commission,
- (d) the combined relationship of the Commission, the industry operator Greyhound Racing NSW, and industry participants in relation to the overall greyhound racing industry,
- (e) the existing funding agreement between the Commission and Greyhound Racing NSW with a view to considering recommended options,
- (f) the actions, conduct and effectiveness of the Commission and GRNSW, in particular in relation to its role in improving the welfare of greyhounds, and
- (g) any other related matter.

## Committee membership

Hon Robert Borsak MLC	Shooter, Fishers and Farmers Party	Chair
Ms Abigail Boyd MLC	The Greens	Deputy Chair
Hon Lou Amato MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Wes Fang MLC	The Nationals	
Hon Courtney Houssos MLC*	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Mark Latham MLC**	Pauline Hanson's One Nation	
Hon Taylor Martin MLC***	Liberal Party	
Hon Mark Pearson MLC	Animal Justice Party	
Hon Mick Veitch MLC	Australian Labor Party	

<sup>\*</sup> The Hon Courtney Houssos MLC replaced the Hon Walt Secord MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 21 June 2021.

<sup>\*\*</sup> The Hon Mark Latham MLC is a participating member from 10 December 2020 for the duration of the inquiry.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> The Hon Taylor Martin MLC replaced the Hon Sam Farraway MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022.