

## LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 7 – PLANNING AND ENVIRONMENT

## Inquiry into the rationale for, and impacts of, new dams and other water infrastructure in NSW

## TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No.7 Planning and Environment inquire into and report on the rationale for, and impacts of, new dam and mass water storage projects proposed by Water NSW including Wyangala, Mole River and Dungowan Dam projects, the Macquarie River reregulating storage project, the Menindee Lakes Water Savings Project and the Western Weirs project, particularly:
  - (a) the need for the projects, including the historical allocation of water and consideration of other options for ensuring water security in inland regions,
  - (b) the economic rationale and business case of each of the projects, including funding, projected revenue, and the allocation and pricing of water from the projects,
  - (c) the environmental, cultural, social and economic impacts of the projects, including their impact on any national or state water agreements, or international environmental obligations,
  - (d) the impacts of climate change on inland waterways, including future projections, and the role of dams and other mass water storage projects in ensuring security of water supply for social, economic and environmental outcomes
  - (e) water infrastructure technologies that may promote enhanced environmental outcomes,
  - (f) any other related matter.
- 2. That the committee table Part 1 of the report by 22 March 2021 and Part 2 of the report by 30 July 2021, and Part 3 of the report at a later date, which will address the final business cases once released, and any other related matter.

## Committee membership

Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC	The Greens	Chair
The Hon Mark Pearson MLC	Animal Justice Party	Deputy Chair
The Hon Catherine Cusack MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Ben Franklin MLC	The Nationals	
The Hon Rose Jackson MLC*	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Penny Sharpe MLC	Australian Labor Party	

<sup>\*</sup> The Hon Rose Jackson MLC replaced the Hon Mark Buttigieg as a substantive member of the committee from 21 June 2021.