

## LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 1 – PREMIER AND FINANCE

## **Inquiry into Cybersecurity**

## TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That Portfolio Committee 1 Premier and Finance inquire into and report on cybersecurity and digital information management in New South Wales, and in particular:
  - (a) The number of cybersecurity incidents and data breaches involving NSW Government agencies;
  - (b) The monitoring and response to cybersecurity incidents and data breaches across the NSW Government;
  - (c) The policies and procedures underpinning the management of digital information by the NSW Government;
  - (d) Systems management within NSW Government agencies including outages, backups and cyber security;
  - (e) The financial costs and other impacts of cybersecurity incidents, data breaches and outages involving NSW Government agencies;
  - (f) Expenditure on cybersecurity, digital services and digital infrastructure across the NSW Government;
  - (g) The management of public access to digital information under GIPA and similar processes including coverage of mobile based and online platforms;
  - (h) Contractual arrangements between the NSW Government and providers of digital services and infrastructure, including:
    - (i) Provisions relating to cybersecurity generally; and
    - (ii) Reporting obligations and the monitoring of cybersecurity incidents;
  - (i) The extent and impact of outsourcing of government information systems, including:
    - (i) Outsourcing to entities which are owned overseas;
    - (ii) The risks involved with outsourcing government information systems.
  - (j) The support provided by the NSW Government to local councils and other organisations in relation to cybersecurity;

- (k) The NSW Government's response to cybercrime in the community generally; and
- (l) Any other related matter.

## Committee membership

Hon Tara Moriarty MLC	Australian Labor Party	Chair
Hon Robert Borsak MLC	Shooters Fishers and Farmers Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Ben Franklin MLC	The Nationals	
Hon Taylor Martin MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Adam Searle MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Mr David Shoebridge MLC *	The Greens	
Hon Natalie Ward MLC	Liberal Party	

 $<sup>^{\</sup>ast}$  Mr David Shoebridge MLC substituted for Ms Abigail Boyd MLC on 6 August 2020 for the duration of the inquiry