

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## PUBLIC ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEE

## Integrity, efficacy and value for money of NSW Government grant programs

## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

- 1. That the Public Accountability Committee inquire into and report on the integrity, efficacy and value for money of NSW Government grant programs, and in particular:
  - (a) the range and availability of funding programs, including but not limited to:
    - discretionary grants funds such as the Premier's Discretionary Fund and the Deputy Premier's Miscellaneous Grants
    - (ii) local government funding such as the Stronger Communities Fund and Stronger Country Communities Fund,
    - (iii) arts funding such as the Regional Cultural Fund,
    - (iv) sports funding such as the Greater Sydney Sports Facility Fund and the Regional Sports Infrastructure Fund,
    - (v) Jobs for NSW funding, including the review into Jobs for NSW,
  - (b) the manner in which grants are determined, including:
    - (i) the oversight of funding determinations,
    - (ii) the transparency of decision making under grants schemes,
    - (iii) the independence of the assessment of projects,
    - (iv) the role of Members of Parliament in proposing projects for funding,
    - (v) the scope of Ministers' discretion in determining which projects are approved,
  - (c) measures necessary to ensure the integrity of grants schemes and public confidence in the allocation of public money, and
  - (d) any other related matter.

## 2. That the committee table a first report by 31 March 2021 and a final report by 28 February 2022.<sup>1</sup>

<sup>1</sup> 

The original final reporting date was 31 March 2021 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 4 August 2020, pp 1113-1114). The reporting date was later extended to 29 July 2021 with a first report to be tabled by 31 March 2021 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 16 February 2021, p 1908). On 26 April 2021 the reporting date was extended to 12 August 2021 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 24 March 2021, p 2095). On 5 July 2021, the reporting date was extended to 29 October 2021 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 12 October 2021, p 2423). On 19 October 2021, the reporting date was extended to 28 February 2022 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 19 October 2021, p 2518).

Committee membership

Mr David Shoebridge MLC	The Greens	Chair
Hon Robert Borsak MLC	Shooters Fishers and Farmers Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Lou Amato MLC*	Liberal Party	
Hon Scott Farlow MLC**	Liberal Party	
Hon John Graham MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Courtney Houssos MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Peter Poulos MLC***	Liberal Party	

\* The Hon Lou Amato MLC replaced the Hon Trevor Khan MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 25 January 2022. The Hon Trevor Khan MLC was a substantive member of the committee to 6 January 2022.

\*\* The Hon Scott Farlow MLC replaced the Hon Natalie Ward MLC as a committee member on 16 June 2021.

\*\*\* The Hon Peter Poulos MLC replaced the Hon Matthew Mason-Cox MLC as a committee member on 13 May 2021.