

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 4 – INDUSTRY

Inquiry into the implementation of the recommendations contained in the NSW Chief Scientist's Independent Review of Coal Seam Gas Activities in New South Wales

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No.4 Industry inquire into and report on the implementation of the recommendations contained in the NSW Chief Scientist's Independent Review of Coal Seam Gas Activities in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) the status of the implementation of the recommendations,
 - (b) the effectiveness of the implementation of the recommendations and whether or not there are gaps in implementation,
 - (c) whether any other inquiry findings or other major reports relating to unconventional gas in Australia or the east coast gas market published since the release of the Chief Scientists are relevant to the suitability or effectiveness of the Chief Scientists recommendations, and
 - (d) any other related matters.
- 2. That the committee report by Friday 28 February 2020.¹

Committee membership

Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooter, Fishers and Farmers Party Chair
Hon Lou Amato MLC	Liberal Party
Ms Abigail Boyd MLC***	Greens
Hon Catherine Cusack MLC	Liberal Party
Mr Justin Field MLC*	Independent
Hon Trevor Khan MLC	The Nationals
Hon Peter Primrose MLC**	Australian Labor Party
Hon Adam Searle MLC****	Australian Labor Party

^{*} Mr Justin Field MLC substituted for the Hon Emma Hurst MLC from 3 October 2019 for the duration of the inquiry.

^{**} The Hon Peter Primrose MLC substituted for the Hon John Graham MLC from 3 October 2019

¹ The original reporting date was Friday 20 December 2019 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 15 October 2019). On Tuesday 3 December 2019 the committee resolved to extend the reporting date to Friday 28 February 2020.

for the duration of the inquiry.

- *** Ms Abigail Boyd MLC is a participating member from 15 October 2019 for the duration of the inquiry.
- **** The Hon Adam Searle MLC substituted for the Hon Mick Veitch MLC from 23 October 2019 for the duration of the inquiry.