

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Inquiry into the Sydenham-Bankstown Line conversion

Terms of Reference

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 6 Transport and Customer Service inquire into and report on aspects of the planned conversion of the Sydenham-Bankstown Line from heavy rail to metro, being the southwest part of the Sydney Metro City and Southwest project, including:
 - (a) the adequacy of the business case and viability of Metro,
 - (b) the consideration of alternatives for improving capacity and reducing congestion,
 - (c) the factors taken into account when comparing the alternatives and the robustness of the evidence used in decision-making,
 - (d) whether metro is a suitable means of transport over long distances,
 - (e) the consultation process undertaken with, and the adequacy of information given to, community, experts and other stakeholders,
 - (f) the impact on the environment and heritage conservation,
 - (g) any lobbying, political donations or other influence of the public or private sector in relation to making that decision,
 - (h) the tender process for appointing private operators,
 - (i) the contractual arrangements entered into in respect of the project,
 - (j) the adequacy of temporary transport arrangements during the conversion process, including for people with a disability,
 - (k) the impact on the stations west of Bankstown, and
 - (l) any related matter.
- 2. That the committee report by Tuesday 31 March 2020.¹

¹ The original reporting date was 31 March 2020 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 22 August 2019, pp 378-379). The reporting date was later extended to 30 June 2020 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 24 March 2020, p865).

Committee membership

Ms Abigail Boyd MLC	The Greens	Chair
Hon Mark Banasiak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	Deputy Chair
Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC*	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Wes Fang MLC **	The Nationals	
Hon Scott Farlow MLC***	Liberal Party	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Daniel Mookhey MLC	Australian Labor Party	

*Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC substituted for the Hon Peter Primrose MLC from 22 August 2019 to 10 November 2019. Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC substituted for Hon John Graham MLC from 11 November 2019 for the duration of the inquiry.

**Hon Wes Fang MLC substituted for Hon Sam Farraway MLC from 19 November 2019 for the duration of the inquiry.

***Hon Scott Farlow MLC replaced the Hon Catherine Cusack MLC as a substantive member of the committee from 31 January 2020.