

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PROCEDURE COMMITTEE

Consultation on highly contentious bills

Terms of reference

That the Procedure Committee inquire into and report on the parliamentary modernisation proposals that:

- (a) prior to its introduction in the Legislative Council, all highly contentious government legislation – defined as a bill likely to substantially alter economic, employment, social, legal or environmental conditions in New South Wales and to provoke widespread public interest in the proposed changes – be subject to a comprehensive and consultative Green and White Paper process, and
- (b) a modified research and deliberative process be available for highly contentious private members' bills to ensure that the intent and possible ramifications of the draft legislation are fully explored.

Hon John Ajaka MLC	Liberal Party	(Chair)
Hon Robert Borsak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers	
Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC	The Greens	
Hon Don Harwin MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Emma Hurst MLC	Animal Justice Party	
Hon Trevor Khan MLC	The Nationals	
Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Sarah Mitchell MLC	The Nationals	
Hon Shaoquett Moselmane MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Revd the Hon Fred Nile MLC	Christian Democratic Party	
Hon Adam Searle MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Penny Sharpe MLC	Australian Labor Party	

Committee membership