

## LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 3 – EDUCATION

## Inquiry into measurement and outcome-based funding in New South Wales schools

## Terms of Reference

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 3 Education inquire into and report on measurement and the proposal for outcome-based funding in New South Wales schools, and in particular:
  - (a) New South Wales school results relative to other states and other countries and what these trends show about schools policy,
  - (b) the existing state of measurement in the New South Wales education system and the measurement systems and data requirements that would be required to implement outcome-based budgeting in the New South Wales education system,
  - (c) consequences of the introduction of outcome-based budgeting for New South Wales schools with particular regard to:
    - (i) the needs of and impact on disadvantaged schools and students from a disadvantaged background
    - (ii) the needs of and impact on students with a disability
    - (iii) parental/community involvement in school accountability
    - (iv) the development of the status and quality of the New South Wales teaching profession
    - (v) establishing international best practice for teaching methods, performance measurement and school management in New South Wales
    - (vi) the effectiveness of the Local Schools/Local Decisions policy,
  - (d) how schools should be funded into the future and whether New South Wales growth funding, including from Gonski and other sources, should be linked to outcomes and performance,

- (e) reporting and accountability measures for all schools in regard to state government funding,
- (f) the provision of wrap-around services to support educational outcomes, and
- (g) any other related matters.
- 2. That the committee report by 28 February 2020.<sup>1</sup>

## Committee membership

Hon Mark Latham MLC	Pauline Hanson's One Nation	(Chair)
Hon Matthew Mason-Cox MLC	Liberal Party	(Deputy Chair)
Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Wes Fang MLC	The Nationals	
Hon Scott Farlow MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Courtney Houssos MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Mr David Shoebridge MLC	The Greens	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The original reporting date was 20 December 2019 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 03 July 2019). On the 29 November 2019 the committee resolved to extend the reporting date to 28 February 2020.