

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO 7 – PLANNING AND ENVIRONMENT

Inquiry into koala populations and habitat in New South Wales

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That Portfolio Committee No. 7 Planning and Environment inquire into and report on actions, policies and funding by government to ensure healthy, sustainable koala populations and habitat in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) the status of koala populations and koala habitat in New South Wales, including trends, key threats, resource availability, adequacy of protections and areas for further research,
 - (b) the impacts on koalas and koala habitat from:
 - (i) the Coastal Integrated Forestry Operations Approvals and Regional Forest Agreements,
 - (ii) the Private Native Forestry Code of Practice,
 - (iii) the old growth forest remapping and rezoning program,
 - (iv) the 2016 land management reforms, including the Local Land Services Amendment Act 2016 and associated regulations and codes
 - (c) the effectiveness of State Environmental Planning Policy 44 Koala Habitat Protection, the NSW Koala Strategy and the Biodiversity Conservation Act 2016, including the threatened species provisions and associated regulations, in protecting koala habitat and responding to key threats,
 - (d) identification of key areas of koala habitat on private and public land that should be protected, including areas currently at risk of logging or clearing, and the likely impacts of climate change on koalas and koala distribution,
 - (e) the environmental, social and economic impacts of establishing new protected areas to conserve koala habitat, including national parks, and
 - (f) any other related matter.
- 2. That the committee report by 30 June 2020.¹

The terms of reference were self-referred by the committee on 20 June 2019.²

¹ The original reporting date was 15 June 2020 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 6 August 2019, pp 304-305). The reporting date was later extended to 30 June 2020 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 2 June 2020, p 962).

² *Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 6 August 2019, pp 304-305.

Committee membership		
Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC	The Greens	(Chair)
Hon Mark Pearson MLC	Animal Justice Party	(Deputy Chair)
Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Catherine Cusack MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Ben Franklin MLC	The Nationals	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Penny Sharpe MLC	Australian Labor Party	