

## LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE PROPOSAL TO RAISE THE WARRAGAMBA DAM WALL

## Inquiry into the Proposal to Raise the Warragamba Dam Wall

## Terms of Reference

- 1. That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on the NSW Government's proposal to raise the Warragamba Dam wall, and in particular:
  - (a) conflicting reports on the planning height for the dam wall raising and the potential use of the raising for additional storage capacity as well as flood mitigation,
  - (b) plans for future property development on flood prone land on the Hawkesbury Nepean Floodplain,
  - (c) engagement between the NSW Government and the World Heritage Committee of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) in relation to the project,
  - (d) the adequacy of the Environmental Impact Assessment process to date, including the assessment of impacts on:
    - (i) World Heritage,
    - (ii) Aboriginal Cultural Heritage,
    - (iii) ecological values of the Greater Blue Mountains National Park,
    - (iv) the Warragamba community,
    - (v) communities on the Hawkesbury Nepean Floodplain,
  - (e) the nature and extent of the examination of alternative options for flood management that formed the basis of the Cost Benefit Analysis of the project and the 'Resilient Valley, Resilient Communities' strategy,
  - (f) the flood risk assessment and proposed flood management of the Hawkesbury-Nepean Valley and whether this meets international best practice standards,
  - (g) the estimated cost of the project and identified funding sources,
  - (h) the implementation of recommendations in the inquiry into the Water NSW Amendment (Warragamba Dam) Bill 2018 by the Standing Committee on State Development in October 2018, and
  - (i) any other related matter.

## Committee membership

Mr Justin Field MLC	Independent	Chair
Hon Rod Roberts MLC	Pauline Hanson's One Nation	Deputy Chair
Hon Wes Fang MLC	The Nationals	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Taylor Martin MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Adam Searle MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Penny Sharpe MLC	Australian Labor Party	

<sup>\*</sup>The Hon Wes Fang MLC replaced the Hon Trevor Khan MLC on 22 October 2019.