

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SELECT COMMITTEE ON ELECTRICTY SUPPLY, DEMAND AND PRICES IN NEW SOUTH WALES

Inquiry into Electricity Supply, Demand and Prices in New South Wales

Terms of reference

- 1. That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on electricity supply, demand and prices in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) the reasons for recent large increases in the price of electricity,
 - (b) the impact of the deregulation of electricity prices in 2014,
 - (c) alleged collusion and price gouging by energy retailers,
 - (d) the effectiveness or impact of any current regulatory standards and guidelines,
 - (e) options for future government oversight and responsibility in the re-regulation of electricity prices,
 - (f) the adequacy of planning to meet future electricity demand, including utilising high efficiency, low emissions coal technology as well as the use of nuclear, gas, solar and wind energies, and energy storage through batteries, pumped hydro and hydrogen, and improved transmission between regions,
 - (g) the adequacy of programs to assist low income earners, pensioners and senior card holders to afford electricity as well as the impact of additional fees, such as late payment fees, included in energy bills, and
 - (h) any other related matter.
- 2. That the committee report by the last sitting day in November 2018.¹

¹ The original reporting date was 9 March 2018 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 10 August 2017, p 1850). The reporting date was extended to the last sitting day in November 2018 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 7 March 2018, p 2315).

Committee membership

The Hon Paul Green MLC	Christian Democratic Party	Chair
The Hon Robert Borsak MLC	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	Deputy Chair
Mr Jeremy Buckingham MLC	The Greens	
The Hon Ben Franklin MLC	The Nationals	
The Hon John Graham MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Taylor Martin MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Adam Searle MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Matthew Mason-Cox MLC*	Liberal Party	
* Mr Mason Cox is a participating member of the co	ammittee for the duration of the inquiry	

* Mr Mason-Cox is a participating member of the committee for the duration of the inquiry.