

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 2 – HEALTH AND COMMUNITY SERVICES

## Inquiry into road tolling

## Terms of reference

That Portfolio Committee No. 2 – Health and Community Services inquire into and report on matters relating to tolling regimes for roads in New South Wales including:

- (a) a review of the tolling regimes in place on different roads and an explanation for the differences between each
- (b) the process for determining how tolls are set for all types of vehicles, the length of tolling concession periods, the rationale for extending these concession periods and opportunities to increase transparency for the public, particularly given the absence in some instances of any competitive process
- (c) how tolling contracts are negotiated and varied and opportunities to increase public scrutiny and accountability of the negotiations that take place between private tolling companies and the NSW Government
- (d) the rationale for allowing higher than CPI increases on certain tolls
- (e) the extent of any consultation undertaken with the trucking industry before changes are made to tolling regimes
- (f) the appropriateness of involving the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) in the determination of tolls and their escalation, given the involvement of IPART and other such independent regulators in setting public transport fares and other services such as electricity transmission and distribution charges
- (g) opportunities to increase the assurance to the public that tolling arrangements represent the fairest possible outcome
- (h) an examination of road tolling arrangements in overseas jurisdictions, and
- (i) any other related matter.

## Committee membership

Hon Greg Donnelly MLC	Australian Labor Party	(Chair)
Hon Paul Green MLC	Christian Democratic Party	(Deputy Chair)
Dr Mehreen Faruqi MLC*	The Greens	
Hon John Graham MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Trevor Khan MLC*	The Nationals	
Hon Taylor Martin MLC*	Liberal Party	
Hon Dr Peter Phelps MLC	Liberal Party	
Hon Daniel Mookhey MLC*	Australian Labor Party	

\* Dr Mehreen Faruqi MLC is substituting for the Hon Dawn Walker MLC for the duration of the inquiry.

\* The Hon Trevor Khan MLC is substituting for the Hon Bronnie Taylor MLC for the duration of the inquiry.

\* The Hon Taylor Martin MLC is substituting for Mr Scot MacDonald MLC for the duration of the inquiry.

\* The Hon Daniel Mookhey MLC will be participating for the duration of the inquiry.