

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 4 – LEGAL AFFAIRS

Inquiry into museums and galleries

- 1. That General Purpose Standing Committee No. 4 inquire into and report on the performance or effectiveness of the NSW Government agencies responsible for the organisation, structure and funding of museums and galleries in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - a) NSW government policy, funding and support for museums and galleries, museum and gallery buildings and heritage collections, including volunteer managed museums and museums managed by councils
 - b) potential funding impacts on museums and galleries affected by council amalgamations
 - c) opportunities to revitalise the structure, reach, and impact of museums and galleries, and their research and collecting priorities
 - d) access to the collections of the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences, the Australian Museum and any other state collections held in trust for the people of New South Wales, and programs that promote physical and online access
 - e) the sale of the Powerhouse Museum site in Ultimo and its proposed move to Parramatta, and whether there are alternative strategies to support museum development
 - f) the development and transparency of advice to the government on priorities for NSW museums and galleries
 - g) the impact of the efficiency dividend on the budgets of museums and galleries over the last 10 years, and funding levels compared to other states
 - h) the economic impact of museums and galleries on cultural tourism, and their role in supporting the visitor economy in Sydney and regional New South Wales
 - i) any other related matter.
- 2. That the committee report by 28 February 2019.¹

_

¹ The original reporting date was 24 November 2016 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 23 June 2016, p 1005). The reporting date was later extended to 23 February 2017 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 15 November 2016, p 1297), then to 30 March 2017 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 17 November 2016, p 1362), then to 30 April 2017 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 9 March 2017, p 1454), then to 15 June 2017 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 30 March 2017, p 1503), then to 25 August 2017 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 31 May 2017, p 1683) then to 30 November 2017 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 9 August 2017, p 1835) then to 1 March 2018 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 13 September 2017, p 1884) then to 28 June 2018 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 6 March 2018, p 2308) then to 17 October 2018 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, p 2646), and then to 28 February 2019 (*Minutes*, Legislative Council, 18 September 2018, p 2915).

Committee membership

Hon Robert Borsak MLC	The Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party	Chair
Mr David Shoebridge MLC	The Greens	Deputy Chair
Hon Scott Farlow MLC*	Liberal Party	
Hon Shayne Mallard MLC*	Liberal Party	
Hon Shaoquett Moselmane MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Hon Ben Franklin MLC*	The Nationals	
Hon Walt Secord MLC*	Australian Labor Party	

- * Hon Walt Secord MLC is substituting for Hon Lynda Voltz MLC for the duration of the inquiry.
- * Hon Ben Franklin MLC is substituting for Hon Trevor Khan MLC for the duration of the inquiry.
- * Hon Scott Farlow MLC is substituting for Hon David Clarke MLC for the duration of the inquiry.
- * Hon Shayne Mallard MLC is substituting for Hon Catherine Cusack MLC for the duration of the inquiry.