

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL ISSUES

## Inquiry into closing the gap – overcoming Indigenous disadvantage

## TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That the Standing Committee on Social Issues inquire into and report on:
  - (a) policies and programs being implemented both within Australia (States/Territories/Federal) and internationally aimed at closing the gap between the lifetime expectancy between Aboriginal people and non-Aboriginal people (currently estimated at 17 years), with the assessment of policies and programs including but not limited to: New Zealand, Canada, North America, South America, and also considering available reports and information from key NGOs and community organizations,
  - (b) the impact of the following factors on the current lifetime expectancy gap:
    - (i) environmental health (water, sewerage, waste, other)
    - (ii) health and wellbeing
    - (iii) education
    - (iv) employment
    - (v) housing
    - (vi) incarceration and the criminal justice system
    - (vii) other infrastructure,
  - (c) previous Social Issues committee reports containing reference to Aboriginal people and assess the progress of government in implementing adopted report recommendations,
  - (d) the Federal Government intervention in the Northern Territory and advise on potential programs/initiatives that may or may not have relevance in terms of their application in New South Wales,
  - (e) opportunities for strengthening cultural resilience within Aboriginal communities in New South Wales with a focus on language, cultural identity, economic development and self determination, and
  - (f) the experiences of the outcomes of the COAG Murdi Paaki trial but also take into account the other COAG trials occurring across Australia and their outcomes/lessons learned.
- 2. That the Committee provide an interim report to the House by Monday 30 June 2008.
- 3. That the Committee provide a final report to the House by Friday 28 November 2008.

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

The Hon Ian West MLC (Chair)
The Hon Trevor Khan MLC (Deputy Chair)
The Hon Greg Donnelly MLC
The Hon Marie Ficarra MLC
Dr John Kaye MLC
The Hon Mick Veitch MLC

(Australian Labor Party)
(The Nationals)
(Australian Labor Party)
(Liberal Party)
(The Greens)
(Australian Labor Party)