## GENERAL PURPOSE STANDING COMMITTEE NO. 1 Inquiry into the NSW Rural Fire Service

## WITNESSES WHO APPEARED AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Hearing No. 1 Tuesday, 29 February 2000 Parliament House, Sydney

Name	Position Organisation
Mr Phil Koperberg	Commissioner NSW Rural Fire Service
Mr Ross Smith	Assistant Commissioner – Regional Management & Planning NSW Rural Fire Service
Mr Mark Crosweller	Assistant Commissioner – Strategic Development NSW Rural Fire Service
Mr Barry Rheinberger	Steering Committee of the Bush Fire Brigade
Mr Neil Kemmis	Steering Committee of the Bush Fire Brigade
Ms Dee Wilkes-Bowes	Director – Rural Affairs
	NSW Farmers' Association
Mr Henk Luf	President
	Rural Volunteer Fire Fighters Association of NSW
Mr Harry McClain	Secretary
	Rural Volunteer Fire Fighters Association of NSW
Mr Bruce Wildie	Member
	Rural Volunteer Fire Fighters Association of NSW
Dr Judy Messer	Chairperson
	Nature Conservation Council of NSW Inc
Mr John Asquith	Vice Chairperson
	Nature Conservation Council of NSW Inc
Mr Donald Luscombe	President
	NSW Rural Fire Service Association
Mr Mark Swayn	Vice President (Volunteers)
	NSW Rural Fire Service Association
Mr Keith Harrap	Vice President (Salaried Officers)
	NSW Rural Fire Service Association
Mr Stuart Clark	Member
	NSW Rural Fire Service Association

Mr Tony Belton

# Hearing No. 2 Wednesday, 8 March 2000 Lismore & District Workers' Club, Lismore

Name	Position
	Organisation
Mr Ray Collyer	Fire Control Officer
y and y	Lismore City Council
Mr Ian Rodgers	Chairman, Northern Region Conference
G	NSW Rural Fire Service Association
Mr Terry Kitching	Hon Secretary, Castlereagh Branch
ů G	NSW Rural Fire Service Association Salaried Officers Committee
Mr Bruce Scanlon	Group Captain
	Country Club Rural Fire Brigade
Mr Warren Meredith	Vice President, Coffs Harbour Branch
	NSW Farmers' Association
Mr Joseph Moran	Member
	NSW Farmers' Association
Mr Brett Condie	Fire Control Officer
	Nymboida Shire Council & Grafton City Council
Ms Judith Gibson	Secretary
	Copmanhurst Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade
Mr Larry Adams	Member
	Copmanhurst Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade
Mr Noel Blizzard	Fire Control Officer

Byron Shire Council

Deputy Captain Nimbin Rural Fire Brigade

Mr Ken Hall

# Hearing No. 3 Monday, 20 March 2000 Dubbo RSL & Memorial Club, Dubbo

Name	Position Organisation
Mr John Jenks	Manager, Rural Fire Control and Emergency Dubbo City Council
Mr Tom Knowles	General Manager Wellington Council
Cr Don Ramsland	Mayor Wellington Council
Cr Mark Griggs	Councillor Wellington Council
Mr Barry Gibson	Captain Bocobra Rural Fire Brigade
Mr Paul Whiteley	Group Captain (Northern) Wellington Shire
Mr Wally Mitchell	Volunteer Kerrigundi Rural Fire Brigade
Cr Percy Thompson	Councillor Mudgee Rural Fire Service Consultative Committee
Mr Barrie Grady	Group Captain Mudgee Rural Fire Service Consultative Committee
Ms Helen Cole	Secretary Mudgee Rural Fire Service Consultative Committee
Mr Grahame Pryor	Landholder
Mr Keith Pryor	Landholder
Mr Kel Gardiner	Commercial and Emergency Services Manager Orange City Council
Mr Peter Ryan	Central Region Coordinator NSW Rural Fire Service
Mr Howard Mangelsdorf	Rural Fire Service Advisory Council NSW Farmers Association
Mr Alan Holding	Central Region Chairman NSW Rural Fire Service Association

Member

NSW Rural Fire Service Association

## Hearing No. 4 Friday, 24 March 2000 **Parliament House, Sydney**

Name	Position Organisation
Cr Christopher Vardon	President
	NSW Shires Association
Cr Kenneth Gallen	Executive Member
	Local Government Association of NSW
Mr Warren Taylor	Manager – Advice & Development
·	Local Government & Shires Association of NSW
Mr Brian Gilligan	Director General
G	National Parks & Wildlife Service
Mr Bob Conroy	Director – Central
J	National Parks & Wildlife Service
Mr Donald Luscombe	President
	NSW Rural Fire Service Association
Mr Mark Swayn	Vice President (Volunteers)
J	NSW Rural Fire Service Association
Mr Keith Harrap	Vice President (Salaried Officers)
1	NSW Rural Fire Service Association

Mr Stuart Clark Member NSW Rural Fire Service Association

Mr Phil Koperberg Commissioner

NSW Rural Fire Service

Assistant Commissioner – Strategic Development Mr Mark Crosweller

NSW Rural Fire Service

Director, Corporate Services NSW Rural Fire Service Mr Trevor Anderson