

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE CLOSURE OF PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Inquiry into the closure of public schools in New South Wales

- 1. That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on the closure of public schools in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) the actual or potential closure or recess process relating to the following public schools:
 - (i) Martins Creek Public School
 - (ii) Wollombi Public School
 - (iii) Pearces Creek Public School
 - (iv) Eraring Public School
 - (v) Ellangowan Public School
 - (vi) Wollar Public School
 - (vii) Bellimbopinni Public School
 - (viii) Bylong Upper Public school
 - (ix) Blackville Public School
 - (x) Rouchel Public School, and
 - (xi) any other rural public schools.
 - (b) the processes, policies, procedures, accountability, and decision making surrounding the closure of schools in New South Wales
 - (c) factors considered in determining the suitability of alternative schools in the case of a closure
 - (d) the transparency of the consultation process surrounding school closures
 - (e) the impact on local school communities affected by school closures
 - (f) the role of cost-benefit analyses in the closure process, if applicable, and
 - (g) any other related matter.
- 2. That the committee report by Thursday 22 October 2015.

Committee membership

The Hon Paul Green MLC	Christian Democratic Party	Chair
The Hon Robert Borsak MLC	Shooters and Fishers Party	Deputy Chair
The Hon Lou Amato MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Greg Donnelly MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Ben Franklin MLC	The Nationals	
The Hon Courtney Houssos MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Dr John Kaye MLC	The Greens	
The Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC	Liberal Party	