

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE CONTINUED PUBLIC OWNERSHIP OF SNOWY HYDRO LIMITED

Inquiry into the continued public ownership of Snowy Hydro Limited

Terms of Reference

- 1. That a select committee be appointed to inquire into and report on the continued public ownership of Snowy Hydro Limited, and in particular:
 - (a) impacts on the short and long term financial position of the Government including revenue and recurrent costs,
 - (b) future capital expenditure requirements of Snowy Hydro Limited in order to remain competitive in the national energy market,
 - (c) control of water regulation,
 - (d) access to lands controlled by Snowy Hydro Limited,
 - (e) removal of disused Hydro infrastructure in National Parks,
 - (f) heritage issues,
 - (g) any other related matters.
- 2. That the committee consist of seven members comprising:
 - (a) Government members: Mr Catanzariti, Mr Donnelly and Ms Fazio,
 - (b) Opposition members: Mrs Forsythe and Mrs Pavey, and
 - (c) Cross bench members: Ms Hale and Revd Dr Moyes.
- 3. That, notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders:
 - (a) the Chair of the committee be Revd Dr Moyes, and
 - (b) the Deputy Chair be Mrs Pavey.
- 4. That the committee report by Friday 27 October 2006.
- 5. That the minutes of proceedings, evidence, all papers, documents, reports and records of the Select Committee on the proposed sale of Snowy Hydro Limited, appointed on 3 May 2006, be referred to the committee.

(Minutes of Proceedings No 6, 7 June 2006, Items 26 and 35)

Committee Membership

Revd The Hon Dr Gordon Moyes MLC	Christian Democratic Party	Chair
The Hon Melinda Pavey MLC	The Nationals	Deputy Chair
The Hon Tony Catanzariti MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Greg Donnelly MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Amanda Fazio MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Patricia Forsythe MLC	Liberal Party	
Ms Sylvia Hale MLC	The Greens	