

## LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## SELECT COMMITTEE ON ELECTORAL AND POLITICAL PARTY FUNDING

# Inquiry into electoral and political party funding

#### TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That a select committee be appointed to inquire into and report on the funding of, and disclosure of donations to, political parties, and candidates in state and local government elections, and in particular:
  - (a) all matters associated with electoral funding and disclosure
  - (b) the advantages and disadvantages of banning all donations from corporations, unions and organisations to parties and candidates
  - (c) the advantages and disadvantages of introducing limits on expenditure in election campaigns
  - (d) the impact of political donations on the democratic process and
  - (e) any related matters.
- 2. That notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders, the committee consist of six members of the Legislative Council of whom:
  - (a) two must be government members
  - (b) two must be opposition members, and
  - (c) two must be cross bench members.
- 3. That, notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders, at any meeting of the committee, any four members of the committee will constitute a quorum.
- 4. That the committee report by the last sitting day in June 2008.

### **COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

Revd the Hon Fred Nile MLC (Chair)

The Hon Don Harwin MLC (Deputy Chair)

The Hon Robert Brown MLC

The Hon Amanda Fazio MLC

The Hon Jenny Gardiner MLC

The Hon Mick Veitch MLC

(Christian Democratic Party)

(Liberal Party)

(Shooters Party)

(Australian Labor Party)

(The Nationals)

(Australian Labor Party)