

## PARLIAMENT OF NSW

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE CROSS CITY TUNNEL

## Inquiry into the Cross City Tunnel

## Terms of Reference

- 1. That a Joint Select Committee be appointed to inquire into and report on:
  - (a) the role of Government agencies in relation to the negotiation of the contract with the Cross City Tunnel Consortium,
  - (b) the extent to which the substance of the Cross City Tunnel contract was determined through community consultation processes,
  - (c) the methodology used by the Roads and Traffic Authority for tendering and contract negotiation in connection with the Cross City Tunnel,
  - (d) the public release of contractual and associated documents connected with public private partnerships for large road projects,
  - (e) the communication and accountability mechanisms between the RTA and Government, including the Premier, other Ministers or their staff and the former Premier or former Ministers or their staff,
  - (f) the role of Government agencies in entering into major public private partnership agreements, including public consultation processes and terms and conditions included in such agreements,
  - (g) the role of Government agencies in relation to the negotiation of the contract with the Lane Cove Tunnel Consortium,
  - (h) the extent to which the substance of the Lane Cove Tunnel contract was determined through community consultation processes,
  - (i) the methodology used by the Roads and Traffic Authority for tendering and contract negotiations in connection with the Lane Cove Tunnel, and
  - (j) any other related matters.
- 2. That the committee report:
  - (a) in relation to paragraphs 1 (a) to (e) by the first sitting day in February 2006,
  - (b) in relation to paragraph 1 (f) by 31 May 2006, and
  - (c) in relation to paragraph 1 (g) to (i) by the first sitting day in September 2006.

The original terms of reference 1(a) to 1(f) were referred to the Committee by resolution of the Legislative Council on 15 November 2005, Minutes 128, Item 14, page 1720 and Legislative Assembly 16 November 2005, Votes and Proceedings No 158, Item 28, page 1765.

The current terms of reference were referred to the Committee by resolution of the Legislative Council on 24 May 2006, Minutes 3, Item 6, page 33 and Legislative Assembly 25 May 2006, Votes and Proceedings No 4, Item 24, page 67.

## Committee Membership

Revd the Hon Fred Nile MLC, Chairman The Hon Amanda Fazio MLC The Hon Greg Pearce MLC Ms Lee Rhiannon MLC Ms Kristina Keneally MP Mr Andrew Constance MP Mr Michael Daley MP Mr Steven Pringle MP