

SELECT COMMITTEE ON GREYHOUND RACING IN NSW

INQUIRY INTO GREYHOUND RACING IN NEW SOUTH WALES

- 1. That the Select Committee on Greyhound Racing in New South Wales inquire into and report on greyhound racing in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) The economic viability of the greyhound racing industry in New South Wales
 - (b) The financial performance and conduct of the industry and of Greyhound Racing NSW including a comparison to other states of Australia
 - (c) Government initiatives and assistance measures to support the industry and comparison of assistance to other racing codes
 - (d) The effectiveness of current industry regulation, including the level of autonomy of Greyhound Racing NSW
 - (e) The selection process for the board of Greyhound Racing NSW
 - (f) The effectiveness and accountability of the board and management of Greyhound Racing NSW
 - (g) The effectiveness of the current arrangements for, and role of, the Integrity Auditor of Greyhound Racing NSW
 - (h) The capability and performance of Greyhound Racing NSW and governance of the industry
 - (i) The incidence of drug administration and doping in the industry and the efficacy of Greyhound Racing NSW's control and testing processes
 - (j) Sale and breeding of greyhounds including the market conditions and welfare of animals
 - (k) The welfare of animals in the industry and the role of Greyhound Racing NSW in establishing and enforcing standards of treatment of animals
 - (l) Financial incentives for reducing euthanasia and prosecutions for animal mistreatment
 - (m) The adequacy and integrity of data collection in the industry, including the number of pups born, the number of dogs euthanased and injury rates, and
 - (n) Any other related matter.

2. That the Committee report within six months of the date of passing of this resolution.

Committee membership

The Hon Robert Borsak MLC	Shooters and Fishers Party	Chair
Dr John Kaye MLC	The Greens	Deputy Chair
The Hon Melinda Pavey MLC	The Nationals	
The Hon Trevor Khan MLC	The Nationals	
The Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Lynda Voltz MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Steve Whan MLC	Australian Labor Party	