

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LAW AND JUSTICE

REVIEW OF THE EXERCISE OF THE FUNCTIONS OF THE MOTOR ACCIDENTS AUTHORITY AND THE MOTOR ACCIDENTS COUNCIL

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That, in accordance with section 210 of the *Motor Accidents Compensation Act 1999*, the Standing Committee on Law and Justice be designated as the Legislative Council committee to supervise the exercise of the functions of the Motor Accidents Authority and Motor Accidents Council under the Act.
- 2. That the terms of reference of the Committee in relation to these functions be:
 - (a) to monitor and review the exercise by the Authority and Council of their functions,
 - (b) to report to the House, with such comments as it thinks fit, on any matter appertaining to the Authority or Council or connected with the exercise of their functions to which, in the opinion of the Committee, the attention of the House should be directed,
 - (c) to examine each annual or other report of the Authority and Council and report to the House on any matter appearing in, or arising out of, any such report,
 - (d) to examine trends and changes in motor accidents compensation, and report to the House any changes that the Committee thinks desirable to the functions and procedures of the Authority or Council, and
 - (e) to inquire into any question in connection with the Committee's functions which is referred to it by the House, and report to the House on that question.
- 3. That the Committee report to the House in relation to the exercise of its functions under this resolution at least once every two years.
- 4. That nothing in this resolution authorises the Committee to investigate a particular compensation claim under the *Motor Accidents Compensation Act 1999*.

LC Minutes No 17 (14/6/2011), Item 14.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

The Hon David Clarke MLC (Chair) (Liberal Party)

The Hon Peter Primrose MLC (Deputy Chair) (Australian Labor Party)

The Hon Scot MacDonald MLC (Liberal Party)
The Hon Sarah Mitchell MLC (The Nationals)

The Hon Shaoquett Moselmane MLC (Australian Labor Party)

Mr David Shoebridge MLC (The Greens)