LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE IMPACT OF GAMBLING

INQUIRY INTO THE IMPACT OF GAMBLING

- 1. That the Select Committee on the Impact of Gambling inquire into and report on the impact of gambling on individuals and families in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - a) The design and accessibility of electronic gaming machines and new and emerging gambling products and services
 - b) The regulation of the number and location of electronic and high intensity gaming machines
 - c) Voluntary pre-commitment technology and operational guidelines
 - d) Access to cash and credit in and around gambling venues, and the form and delivery of cash prizes
 - e) The role and capacity of gambling industry staff to address problems caused by gambling
 - f) The regulation of telephone and internet gambling services in other jurisdictions in Australia and overseas
 - g) The regulation of gambling advertising
 - h) Exemptions and exceptions to State and Federal laws and policies relating to gambling
 - i) Gambling education including school-based programs, and measures to reduce the exposure of children and young people to gambling activity
 - j) The adequacy and effectiveness of problem gambling help services and programs, including service standards, qualifications and funding of chaplaincy, counselling and treatment services
 - k) The effectiveness of public health measures to reduce risk of gambling harm, including prevention and early intervention strategies
 - l) The effectiveness of strategies and models for consumer protection and responses to problem gambling in other jurisdictions in Australia and overseas, and
 - m) Any other relevant matters.

Committee membership

Revd the Hon Fred Nile MLC	Christian Democratic Party	Chairman
The Hon Sarah Mitchell MLC	The Nationals	Deputy Chair
Dr John Kaye MLC	The Greens	
The Hon Charlie Lynn MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Greg Pearce MLC*	Liberal Party	
The Hon Mick Veitch MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Ernest Wong MLC	Australian Labor Party	

^{*}The Hon Greg Pearce replaced Hon Matthew Mason-Cox as a member of the committee as of 14 May 2014.