

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SELECT COMMITTEE ON MINISTERIAL PROPRIETY IN NEW SOUTH WALES

INQUIRY INTO MINISTERIAL PROPRIETY IN NEW SOUTH WALES

- 1. That the Select Committee on Ministerial Propriety in New South Wales inquire into and report on ministerial propriety in New South Wales, including but not limited to:
 - (a) Ministerial responsibility to Parliament, including the doctrine of individual ministerial responsibility
 - (b) Measures to reduce potential conflicts of interest between a minister's public duties, private interests and membership of a political party, particularly in relation to financial and commercial activities
 - (c) The operation and enforcement of the *Lobbying of Government Officials Act 2011*, and any associated codes of conduct, registers or administrative arrangements
 - (d) The interaction and appropriate relationship between the Code of Conduct for Members of Parliament, the Lobbyist Code of Conduct, and the current Code of Conduct for Ministers of the Crown
 - (e) Whether the current Code of Conduct for Ministers of the Crown should be adopted as an applicable code for the purposes of section 9(1)(d) of the *Independent Commission Against Corruption Act 1988*, and
 - (f) Any other relevant matters.
- 2. That the Committee report by the last sitting day in October 2014.¹

Committee membership

The Hon Robert Borsak MLC	Shooters and Fishers Party	(Chair)
The Hon Luke Foley MLC	Australian Labor Party	(Deputy Chair)
Dr John Kaye MLC	The Greens	
The Hon Trevor Khan MLC	The Nationals	
The Hon Dr Peter Phelps MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Adam Searle MLC	Australian Labor Party	

¹ Reporting date changed to 2 March 2015 as per Legislative Council Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday 18 September 2014