

## LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL COMMITTEE SYSTEM

## Inquiry into the Legislative Council committee system

## Terms of reference

- 1. That this House notes that on marking the 25<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the modern committee system in the Legislative Council in 2013, the House acknowledged that the work of committees enables the Legislative Council to effectively:
  - (a) hold the Government to account
  - (b) allow for community engagement in the parliamentary process, and
  - (c) develop sound policy for New South Wales' citizens.
- 2. That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on how to ensure that the committee system continues to enable the Legislative Council to effectively fulfil its role as a House of Review.

## Committee membership

The Hon Scott Farlow MLC	Liberal Party	Chair
The Hon Mick Veitch MLC	Australian Labor Party	Deputy Chair
The Hon Greg Donnelly MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Trevor Khan MLC	The Nationals	
Revd the Hon Fred Nile MLC	Christian Democratic Party	
The Hon Greg Pearce MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Dr Peter Phelps MLC	Liberal Party	
Mr David Shoebridge MLC*	The Greens	

<sup>\*</sup>Mr David Shoebridge MLC replaced Dr John Kaye MLC as a committee member.