

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LAW AND JUSTICE

Inquiry into the security classification and management of inmates sentenced to life imprisonment

- 1. That the Standing Committee on Law and Justice inquire into and report on the security classification and management in custody of the following categories of inmates subject to sentences of life imprisonment:
 - (a) inmates serving a sentence of life imprisonment for the term of their natural lives,
 - (b) inmates serving a sentence of life imprisonment who are subject to non-release recommendations as defined in clause 1 of Schedule 1 to the Crimes (Sentencing Procedure) Act 1999, and
 - (c) inmates serving a sentence of life imprisonment that is an 'existing life sentence', as defined in clause 1 of Schedule 1 to the Crimes (Sentencing Procedure) Act 1999, who have not had a specified term and non-parole period set for the sentence under clause 4 of that schedule.
- 2. That in conducting its inquiry, the committee examine:
 - (a) whether the existing legislation, policies and procedures for determining the security classification and custodial management of such inmates are appropriate and consistent with community expectations,
 - (b) the impact of security classification and custodial management of such inmates on registered victims and the role of registered victims in the classification and management decision making process,
 - (c) communication with registered victims prior to and following a security classification and custodial management decision being made and the form that any communication should take,
 - (d) whether it is appropriate to reclassify and provide inmates sentenced to life imprisonment with access to rehabilitative programs and services if they have little or no prospect of release from custody, and
 - (e) the impact of inmate security classification and management decisions on the operation of the correctional system.

Committee membership

The Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC	Liberal Party	Chair
The Hon Lynda Voltz MLC	Australian Labor Party	Deputy Chair
The Hon David Clarke MLC	Liberal Party	
The Hon Daniel Mookhey MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Mr David Shoebridge MLC	The Greens	
The Hon Bronnie Taylor MLC	The Nationals	