

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE PROVISIONS OF THE ELECTION FUNDING, EXPENDITURE AND DISCLOSURES AMENDMENT BILL 2011

TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. That a select committee be appointed to inquire into and report on the provisions of the Election Funding, Expenditure and Disclosures Amendment Bill 2011, and in particular:
 - (a) the constraints imposed by the bill on community and not-for-profit organisations, including unions, community groups, clubs and environment and social justice organisations and their ability to engage in the political process,
 - (b) the impact of the bill on peak organisations, whose constituent entities are themselves membership-based,
 - (c) the impact on community organisations, whose members are voters registered to vote,
 - (d) the impact of the prohibition on the payment of affiliation fees for organisations affiliated to political parties,
 - (e) the impact of donation caps on donations of registered voters and their organisations,
 - (f) the impact of the aggregation of the electoral spending of affiliated organisations under the expenditure cap of the party to which they are affiliated,
 - (g) any amendments necessary to address any adverse impact identified, and
 - (h) the risks of a successful constitutional challenge.
- 2. That the committee report by 15 February 2012.
- 3. That the committee consist of nine members as follows:
 - (a) four Government members,
 - (b) three Opposition members,
 - (c) The Hon. Robert Borsak, and
 - (d) Dr John Kaye
- 4. That the chair of the committee be Dr Kaye.

| Dr John Kaye MLC | The Greens | (Chair) |
|------------------------------------|--------------------------------|---------|
| The Hon Robert Borsak MLC | The Shooters and Fishers Party | |
| The Hon Amanda Fazio MLC | Australian Labor Party | |
| The Hon Jenny Gardiner MLC | The Nationals | |
| The Hon Trevor Khan MLC | The Nationals | |
| The Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC | Liberal Party | |
| The Hon Dr Peter Phelps MLC | Liberal Party | |
| The Hon Peter Primrose MLC | Australian Labor Party | |
| The Hon Steve Whan MLC | Australian Labor Party | |

Committee membership