

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LAW AND JUSTICE

## INQUIRY INTO OPPORTUNITIES TO CONSOLIDATE TRIBUNALS IN NSW

## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

That the Committee inquire into and report on opportunities to consolidate Tribunals in NSW, and in particular:

- 1. have regard to the 2002 Report of the Committee on the Ombudsman and Police Integrity Commission into the Administrative Decisions Tribunal and arrangements that are in place in other jurisdictions, such as the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal;
- 2. In conducting its inquiry, consider the following specific issues:
  - a) opportunities to reform, consolidate, or transfer functions between tribunals which exercise decision-making, arbitral or similar functions in relation to employment, workplace, occupational, professional or other related disputes or matters, having regard to:
    - i. the current and forecast workload for the Industrial Relations Commission (including the Commission in Court Session) as a result of recent changes such as National OHS legislation and the Commonwealth Fair Work Act);
    - ii. the current and forecast workload of other Tribunals (such as the Administrative Decisions Tribunal and health disciplinary Tribunals);
    - iii. opportunities to make tribunals quicker, cheaper and more effective
  - (b) options that would be available in relation to the Industrial Relations Commission in Court Session, should the commissions arbitral functions be consolidated with or transferred to other bodies;
  - (c) the jurisdiction and operation of the Consumer Trader and Tenancy Tribunal, with particular regard to:
    - i. its effectiveness in providing a fast, informal, flexible process for resolving consumer disputes;
    - ii. the appropriateness of matters within its jurisdiction, having regard to the quantum and type of claim and the CTTTT's procedures;
    - iii. the rights of appeal available from CTTT decisions.
  - (d) any consequential changes which might arise.
- 3. That the Committee report by Thursday 22 March 2012.<sup>1</sup>

1

LC Minutes (16/12/2012) 701, Item 17.

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

The Hon David Clarke MLC *(Chair)* The Hon Peter Primrose MLC *(Deputy Chair)* The Hon Scot MacDonald MLC The Hon Sarah Mitchell MLC The Hon Shaoquett Moselmane MLC Mr David Shoebridge MLC

(Liberal Party) (Australian Labor Party) (Liberal Party) (The Nationals) (Australian Labor Party) (The Greens)