

SELECT COMMITTEE ON BIRTH TRAUMA

- (1) That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on birth trauma, and in particular:
 - (a) the experience and prevalence of birth trauma (including, but not limited to, as a result of inappropriate, disrespectful or abusive treatment before, during and after birth, also referred to as "obstetric violence"),
 - (b) causes and factors contributing to birth trauma including:
 - (i) evaluation of current practices in obstetric care,
 - (ii) use of instruments and devices for assisted birth, for example, forceps and ventouse, (iii) the availability of, and systemic barriers to, trauma-informed care being provided during pregnancy, during birth and following birth,
 - (c) the physical, emotional, psychological, and economic impacts of birth trauma, including both short and long term impacts on patients and their families and health workers,
 - (d) exacerbating factors in delivering and accessing maternity care that impact on birth trauma generally, but also in particular:
 - (i) people in regional, rural and remote New South Wales,
 - (ii) First Nations people,
 - (iii) people from culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) backgrounds,
 - (iv) LGBTQIA+ people,
 - (v) young parents,
 - (e) the role and importance of "informed choice" in maternity care,
 - (f) barriers to the provision of "continuity of care" in maternity care,
 - (g) the information available to patients regarding maternity care options prior to and during their care,
 - (h) whether current legal and regulatory settings are sufficient to protect women from experiencing birth trauma,
 - (i) any legislative, policy or other reforms likely to prevent birth trauma, and
 - (j) any other related matter.
- (2) That, notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the standing orders, the committee consist of nine members comprising:

(a) three government members,

Resolution – Select Committee on Birth Trauma

- (b) three opposition members, and
- (c) three crossbench members, being Ms Hurst, Mr Banasiak and Dr Cohn.
- (3) That the Chair of the committee be Ms Hurst, and the Leader of the Opposition is to nominate the Deputy Chair in writing to the Clerk of the Parliaments.
- (4) That, unless the committee decides otherwise:
 - (a) all inquiries are to be advertised via social media, stakeholder emails and a media release distributed to all media outlets in New South Wales,
 - (b) submissions to the inquiry are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration,
 - (c) attachments to submissions are to remain confidential,
 - (d) the Chair's proposed witness list is to be circulated to provide members with an opportunity to amend the list, with the witness list agreed to by email, unless a member requests the Chair to convene a meeting to resolve any disagreement,
 - (e) the sequence of questions to be asked at hearings is to alternate between government, opposition and crossbench members, in that order, with equal time allocated to each,
 - (f) transcripts of evidence taken at public hearings are to be published,
 - (g) supplementary questions are to be lodged with the Committee Clerk within two business days, following the receipt of the hearing transcript, with witnesses requested to return answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions within 21 calendar days of the date on which questions are forwarded to the witness,
 - (h) answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration, and
 - (i) media statements on behalf of the committee are to be made only by the Chair.
- (5) That the committee report by 3 June 2024.¹

[Resolved 21 June 2023, Minutes No 11, Item 26, pp 208-211, amended 12 September 2023, Minutes No 22, Item 11, p435]

1

The original reporting date was 1 February 2024 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 21 June 2023, pp 208-211). The reporting date was later extended to 3 June 2024 (*Minutes*, NSW Legislative Council, 12 September 2023, p 435).