1 SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE CORONIAL JURISDICTION IN NEW SOUTH WALES (Formal Business)

Mr Searle by leave, amended private members' business item no. 1172 by inserting after paragraph (1)(a)(v):

"(vi) the operational arrangements in support of the Coroner's court with the NSW Police Force and the Ministry of Health,".

Mr Searle moved, as formal business, as by leave amended:

- (1) That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on the coronial jurisdiction in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) the law, practice and operation of the Coroner's Court of NSW, including:
 - (i) the scope and limits of its jurisdiction,
 - (ii) the adequacy of its resources,
 - (iii) the timeliness of its decisions,
 - (iv) the outcomes of recommendations made, including the mechanisms for oversighting whether recommendations are implemented,
 - the ability of the court to respond to the needs of culturally and linguistically diverse and First Nations families and communities,
 - (vi) the operational arrangements in support of the Coroner's court with the NSW Police Force and the Ministry of Health,
 - (b) whether, having regard to coronial law, practice and operation in other Australian and relevant overseas jurisdictions, any changes to the coronial jurisdiction in New South Wales are desirable or necessary,
 - (c) the most appropriate institutional arrangements for the coronial jurisdiction in New South Wales, including whether it should be a standalone court, an autonomous division of the Local Court, or some other arrangement, and
 - (d) any other related matter.
- (2) That, notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the standing orders, the committee have the same membership as the Select Committee on the High Level of First Nations people in custody and oversight and review of deaths in custody, comprising:
 - (a) two government members, being the Honourable Trevor Khan MLC and the Honourable Natalie Ward MLC,
 - (b) two opposition members, being the Honourable Adam Searle MLC and the Honourable Penny Sharpe MLC, and
 - (c) two crossbench members, one from the Greens and one from another cross bench party, being Mr David Shoebridge and the Honourable Rod Roberts.
- (3) That the Chair of the committee be the Honourable Adam Searle MLC and the Deputy Chair be Mr David Shoebridge MLC.
- (4) That, unless the committee decides otherwise:
 - (a) submissions to inquiries are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration.

- (b) the Chair's proposed witness list is to be circulated to provide members with an opportunity to amend the list, with the witness list agreed to by email, unless a member requests the Chair to convene a meeting to resolve any disagreement,
- (c) the sequence of questions to be asked at hearings alternate between Opposition, Cross-bench and Government members, in that order, with equal time allocated to each,
- (d) transcripts of evidence taken at public hearings are to be published,
- (e) supplementary questions are to be lodged with the Committee Clerk within two days (excluding Saturday and Sunday) following the receipt of the hearing transcript, with witnesses requested to return answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions within 21 calendar days of the date on which questions are forwarded to the witness, and
- (f) answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration.
- (5) That the committee report by the end of December 2021.

Question put and passed.