## 27 SELECT COMMITTEE ON LANDOWNER PROTECTION FROM UNAUTHORISED FILMING OR SURVEILLANCE

Mr Borsak moved, according to notice:

1. That a select committee be established to inquire into and report on the extent of protection for landowners from unauthorised filming or surveillance and in particular:

- (a) the nature of protection for landholders from unauthorised filming or surveillance, including but not limited to installation, use and maintenance of optical surveillance devices without consent under the Surveillance Devices Act 2007,
- (b) the extent and appropriateness of penalties for unauthorised filming or surveillance, including but not limited to on-the spot fines and/or relevant penalties under the Summary Offences Act 1988,
- (c) the implications with regard to self-incrimination of the request of disclosure by a person of any recordings made by that person,
- (d) the implications of rapidly changing media environment, including social media platforms such as Facebook Live, and
- (e) any other related matter.
- 2. That, notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the standing orders, the committee consist of seven members comprising:
  - (a) three Government members, being Mr Colless, Mr Khan, and Mr MacDonald,
  - (b) two Opposition members, and
  - (c) two crossbench members, being Mr Borsak and Mr Pearson.
- 3. That the Chair of the committee be Mr Borsak.
- 4. That members may be appointed to the committee as substitute members for any matter before the committee by providing notice in writing to the Committee Clerk, with nominations made as follows:
  - (a) nominations for substitute government or opposition members are to be made by the Leader of the Government, Leader of the Opposition, Government or Opposition Whip or Deputy Whip, as applicable, and
  - (b) nominations for substitute crossbench members are to be made by the substantive member or another crossbench member.
- 5. That a committee member who is unable to attend a deliberative meeting in person may participate by electronic communication and may move any motion and be counted for the purpose of any quorum or division, provided that:
  - (a) the Chair is present in the meeting room,
  - (b) all members are able to speak and hear each other at all times, and
  - (c) members may not participate by electronic communication in a meeting to consider a draft report.
- 6. That, unless the committee decides otherwise:
  - (a) submissions to inquiries are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration,
  - (b) the Chair's proposed witness list is to be circulated to provide members with an opportunity to amend the list, with the witness list agreed to by email, unless a member requests the Chair to convene a meeting to resolve any disagreement,

- (c) the sequence of questions to be asked at hearings alternate between opposition, crossbench and government members, in that order, with equal time allocated to each,
- (d) transcripts of evidence taken at public hearings are to be published,
- (e) supplementary questions are to be lodged with the Committee Clerk within two days, excluding Saturday and Sunday, following the receipt of the hearing transcript, with witnesses requested to return answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions within 21 calendar days of the date on which questions are forwarded to the witness, and
- (f) answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration.

Debate ensued.

Question put.

The House divided.

## Ayes 35

Mr Amato	Mr Green	Revd Mr Nile
Mr Blair	Mr Harwin	Mr Pearson
Mr Borsak	Mrs Houssos	Dr Phelps
Mr Brown	Mr Khan	Mr Searle
Mr Clarke	Mr MacDonald	Mr Secord
Mr Colless	Mrs Maclaren-Jones *	Ms Sharpe
Ms Cusack	Mr Mallard	Mrs Taylor
Mr Donnelly	Mr Martin	Mr Veitch
Mr Fang *	Mr Mason-Cox	Ms Voltz
Mr Farlow	Mrs Mitchell	Ms Ward
Mr Franklin	Mr Mookhey	Mr Wong
Mr Graham	Mr Moselmane	-
		* Tellers
	Noes 5	
Mr Buckingham	Mr Field *	Ms Walker
Dr Faruqi	Mr Shoebridge *	

\* Tellers

Question resolved in the affirmative.