# Draft minutes no. 1

Thursday 1 June 2023 Standing Committee on State Development Room 1043, Parliament House, Sydney at 12.40 pm

## 1. Members present

Ms Suvaal, Chair

Mr Farraway, Deputy Chair

Mr Buttigieg

Ms Faehrmann

Ms Hurst

Dr Kaine (substituting for Mr Lawrence)

Mr Martin

Mr Primrose

## 2. Tabling of resolution establishing the committee.

The Chair tabled the resolution of the House of 10 May 2023 establishing the committee, which reads as follows:

That, notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in the standing orders:

#### Appointment

- (1) Three standing committees be appointed as follows:
  - (a) Law and Justice Committee,
  - (b) Social Issues Committee, and
  - (c) State Development Committee.

. . . . . .

## **State Development Committee**

- (6) The committee may inquire into and report on:
  - (a) issues concerned with state, local and regional development in New South Wales, and
  - (b) matters concerned with planning, infrastructure, finance, industry, the environment, primary industry, natural resources, science, local government, emergency services and public administration.

#### Referral of inquiries

- (7) A committee:
  - (a) is to inquire into and report on any matter relevant to the functions of the committee which is referred to the committee by resolution of the House,
  - (b) may inquire into and report on any matter relevant to the functions of the committee which is referred by a Minister of the Crown, and
  - (c) may inquire into and report on any annual report or petition relevant to the functions of the committee which has been laid upon the Table of the Legislative Council.

: .

(8) Whenever a committee resolves to inquire into a matter, under paragraph (7)(b) or (7)(c), the terms of reference or the resolution is to be reported to the House on the next sitting day.

#### **Powers**

- (9) The committee has power to make visits of inspection within New South Wales and, with the approval of the President, elsewhere in Australia and outside Australia. Membership
- (10) Each committee is to consist of eight members, comprising:
  - (a) four government members,
  - (b) two opposition members, and
  - (c) two crossbench members. Chair and Deputy Chair
- (11) The Leader of the Government is to nominate in writing to the Clerk of the House the Chair of each committee.
- (12) The Leader of the Opposition is to nominate in writing to the Clerk of the House the Deputy Chair of each committee.

#### Quorum

(13) The quorum of a committee is three members, of whom two must be government members and one a non-government member.

#### **Sub-committees**

(14) A committee has the power to appoint sub-committees.

#### Conduct of committee proceedings

- (15) Unless the committee decides otherwise:
  - (a) all inquiries are to be advertised via social media, stakeholder emails and a media release distributed to all media outlets in New South Wales,
  - (b) submissions to inquiries are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration,
  - (c) attachments to submissions are to remain confidential,
  - (d) the Chair's proposed witness list is to be circulated to provide members with an opportunity to amend the list, with the witness list agreed to by email, unless a member requests the Chair to convene a meeting to resolve any disagreement,
  - (e) transcripts of evidence taken at public hearings are to be published,
  - (f) supplementary questions are to be lodged with the Committee Clerk within two business days, following the receipt of the hearing transcript, with witnesses requested to return answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions within 21 calendar days of the date on which questions are forwarded to the witness,
  - (g) answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration, and
  - (h) media statements on behalf of the committee are to be made only by the Chair.

## 3. Committee chair and deputy chair

The committee noted that the following members were nominated by the Leader of the Government and the Leader of the Opposition as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on State Development:

- Ms Suvaal, Chair
- Mr Farraway, Deputy Chair.

# 4. Briefing on the resolution establishing the committee and conduct of committee proceedings

The secretariat briefed committee members on the resolution establishing the committee and conduct of committee proceedings.

# 5. Conduct of committee proceedings

#### 5.1 Media

The committee noted the Broadcast of Proceedings resolution (as amended by the Legislative Council on 19 October 2022), in particular the provisions relating to the filming, broadcasting, rebroadcasting and photography of committee proceedings, including:

- (4) That unless resolved otherwise by a committee, this House authorises:
  - (a) the filming, broadcasting and photography of members and witnesses in committee proceedings:
    - (i) by representatives of media organisations, including from around the committee meeting table,
    - (ii) by any member of the public, from the position of the audience, and
    - (b) the rebroadcasting of committee proceedings on the Legislative Council and Parliament's social media channels.

## 6. Publication of minutes of the first meeting

Resolved, on the motion of Mr Primrose: That the committee publish the minutes of the first meeting on the committee's webpage, subject to the draft minutes being circulated to members.

# 7. Correspondence

The committee noted the following items of correspondence:

#### Received

- 8 March 2023 Letter from Ms Joanne Gamble, Acting Manager Assessments, NSW Independent Commission against Corruption to Chair, confirming receipt of letter regarding inquiry into allegations of impropriety against agents of the City of Canterbury Bankstown Council
- 14 March 2023 Letter from Ms Julie Kneebone, Special Counsel, Sparke Helmore Lawyers to Chair, regarding documents provided in the inquiry into allegations of impropriety against agents of the City of Canterbury Bankstown Council.

: -

# Sent

- 28 February 2023 Letter from Chair to the Hon John Hatzistergos AM, Chief Commissioner, NSW Independent Commission Against Corruption, referring evidence obtained in the inquiry into allegations of impropriety against agents of the City of Canterbury Bankstown Council
- 23 March 2023 Letter from Ms Madeleine Foley, Acting Clerk Assistant Committees, Department of the Legislative Council, NSW Parliament to Ms Julie Kneebone, Special Counsel, Sparke Helmore Lawyers, regarding documents provided in the inquiry into allegations of impropriety against agents of the City of Canterbury Bankstown Council.

# 8. Legacy report

The committee noted the report entitled *Legacy Report:* 57<sup>th</sup> Parliament was published in February 2023.

## 9. Adjournment

The committee adjourned at 12.42 pm, sine die.

Emma Rogerson

Committee Clerk