Minutes no. 1

Thursday 8 June 2023 Portfolio Committee No. 6 – Transport and the Arts Room 1043, Parliament House, Sydney, 11.01 am

1. Members present

Mr Banasiak

Mr D'Adam

Ms Faehrmann (via Webex)

Mr Farraway (via Webex)

Dr Kaine

Ms Suvaal (substituting for Mr Nanva)

Mrs Ward (via Webex)

2. Tabling of resolution establishing the committee

The Committee Clerk tabled the resolution of the House of 10 May 2023, and as amended on 24 May 2023 establishing the committee, which reads as follows:

That, notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in the standing orders:

Appointment

 Eight portfolio committees reflecting government ministers' portfolio responsibilities be appointed as follows:

(a) Portfolio Committee No. 1 – Premier and Finance

Premier

Treasurer

Finance, Natural Resources

Industrial Relations, Work Health and Safety

The Legislature

Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty, Gaming and Racing, Veterans, the Central Coast, Medical Research

(b) Portfolio Committee No. 2 – Health

Health, Regional Health, the Illawarra and the South Coast Water, Housing, Homelessness, Mental Health, Youth, the North Coast

(c) Portfolio Committee No. 3 – Education

Education and Early Learning, Western Sydney Skills, TAFE, Tertiary Education, the Hunter

(d) Portfolio Committee No. 4 – Regional NSW

Agriculture, Regional New South Wales, Western New South Wales Small Business, Lands and Property, Multiculturalism, Sport

(e) Portfolio Committee No. 5 – Justice and Communities

Attorney General

Police and Counter Terrorism

Families and Communities, Disability Inclusion

Women, Seniors, Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

(f) Portfolio Committee No. 6 – Transport and the Arts

Transport

Special Minister of State, Roads, Arts, Music and the Night-time Economy, Jobs and Tourism

Regional Transport and Roads

(g) Portfolio Committee No. 7 – Planning and Environment

Climate Change, Energy, the Environment, Heritage Planning and Public Spaces

(h) Portfolio Committee No. 8 – Customer Service

Local Government

Customer Service and Digital Government, Emergency Services, Youth Justice Better Regulation and Fair Trading, Industry and Trade, Innovation, Science and Technology, Building, Corrections.

Referral of inquiries

2. A committee:

- (a) is to inquire into and report on any matter relevant to the functions of the committee which is referred to the committee by resolution of the House, and
- (b) may self-refer an inquiry into any matter relevant to the public administration of portfolios allocated to the committee.
- 3. A committee meeting to consider a self-reference under paragraph (2)(b) must be convened at the request of any three committee members in writing to the Committee Clerk.
- 4. The Committee Clerk must convene a meeting within seven calendar days of the receipt of the request, providing that members are given at least 24 hours' notice.
- 5. A majority of committee members is required to adopt the self-reference.
- 6. Whenever a committee resolves to self-refer a matter, the terms of reference are to be reported to the House on the next sitting day.

Membership

- 7. Each committee is to consist of seven members, comprising:
 - (a) three government members,
 - (b) two opposition members, and
 - (c) two crossbench members.

Chair and Deputy Chair

- 8. The committee is to elect the Chair and Deputy Chair in accordance with the standing orders.
- 9. The Chair of the committee is to be a non-government member.

Conduct of the committee proceedings

- 10. Unless the committee decides otherwise:
 - (a) all inquiries are to be advertised via social media, stakeholder emails and a media release distributed to all media outlets in New South Wales,
 - (b) submissions to inquiries are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration,
 - (c) attachments to submissions are to remain confidential,
 - (d) the Chair's proposed witness list is to be circulated to provide members with an opportunity to amend the list, with the witness list agreed to by email, unless a member requests the Chair to convene a meeting to resolve any disagreement,
 - (e) the sequence of questions to be asked at hearings is to alternate between opposition, crossbench and government members, in that order, with equal time allocated to each,
 - (f) transcripts of evidence taken at public hearings are to be published,
 - (g) supplementary questions are to be lodged with the Committee Clerk within two business days, following the receipt of the hearing transcript, with witnesses requested to return answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions within 21 calendar days of the date on which questions are forwarded to the witness,
 - (h) answers to questions on notice and supplementary questions are to be published, subject to the Committee Clerk checking for confidentiality and adverse mention and, where those issues arise, bringing them to the attention of the committee for consideration, and
 - (i) media statements on behalf of the committee are to be made only by the Chair.

3. Election of Chair

The Committee Clerk called for nominations for the Chair.

Mr D'Adam moved: That Ms Faehrmann be elected Chair of the committee.

There being no further nominations, the Clerk declared Ms Faehrmann elected Chair.

4. Election of Deputy Chair

Ms Faehrmann took the Chair.

The Chair called for nominations for Deputy Chair.

Mr Banasiak moved: That Mr Farraway be elected Deputy Chair of the committee.

There being no further nominations, the Chair declared Mr Farraway elected Deputy Chair.

5. Briefing on the resolution establishing the committee and conduct of committee proceedings

The Committee Clerk provided a briefing to committee members on the resolution establishing the committee and conduct of committee proceedings.

6. Conduct of committee proceedings

6.1 Media

The committee noted the Broadcast of Proceedings resolution (as amended by the Legislative Council on 19 October 2022), in particular the provisions relating to the filming, broadcasting, rebroadcasting and photography of committee proceedings, including:

- (4) That unless resolved otherwise by a committee, this House authorises:
 - (a) the filming, broadcasting and photography of members and witnesses in committee proceedings:
 - (i) by representatives of media organisations, including from around the committee meeting table,
 - (ii) by any member of the public, from the position of the audience, and
 - (b) the rebroadcasting of committee proceedings on the Legislative Council and Parliament's social media channels.

7. Publication of minutes of the first meeting

Resolved, on the motion of Mr Banasiak: That the committee publish the minutes of the first meeting on the committee's webpage, subject to the draft minutes being circulated to members.

8. Correspondence

Resolved, on the motion of Mr Farraway: That the committee keep the following item of correspondence confidential, as per the recommendation of the secretariat, as it contains identifying and/or sensitive information and is not related to an inquiry:

• 20 February 2023 – Email from an individual to the committee regarding violence against women and RailCorp.

9. Adjournment

The committee adjourned at 11.08 am, sine die.

Anthony Hanna

Committee Clerk