

13 November 2013

## MEDIA RELEASE

## Inquiry into Speed Zoning and the Demerit Points Scheme

Staysafe—the Parliamentary Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety—has launched an investigation into the impact of speed zones on the demerit points scheme in New South Wales. The inquiry will look at a range of issues including how significantly speed contributes to the road toll, how current speed zones are determined, mechanisms for reviewing speed limits and the success of the demerit points scheme in reducing speeding behavior.

In its previous inquiries, the Committee has heard conflicting evidence about the contribution of speed in crash statistics and the impact of frequent changes in speed limits on the ability of drivers to maintain concentration on the driving task without becoming distracted. This inquiry will provide an opportunity for anyone with an interest in these issues to make a submission in support of their position.

'Speeding is undoubtedly a major factor in injuries and fatalities on NSW roads and the Committee is keen to explore the extent to which this has been adequately debated in the community. The Committee will also examine the appropriateness and adequacy of the demerit points scheme in encouraging safer driving behavior', said Committee Chair, Greg Aplin MP.

'Furthermore, the Committee will look at the mechanisms by which speed limits are determined and the range of factors taken into account to set such limits, particularly when the maximum speed can vary several times along the same stretch of road. The Staysafe Committee wants to ensure that the community is confident that such limits adequately reflect appropriate risk factors and take account of possible distraction impacts'.

The Committee is inviting submissions to the inquiry. The inquiry's terms of reference are attached. Submissions can be emailed to staysafe@parliament.nsw.gov.au, lodged via the website, www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/staysafe, or mailed to: The Chair, Joint Committee on Road Safety, Parliament House, Macquarie Street, Sydney NSW 2000.

The closing date for submissions is 28 February 2013 and it is anticipated public hearings to gather further evidence will be held shortly afterwards.

MEDIA Greg Aplin MP, Committee Chair, 02 6021 3042 Bjarne Nordin, Inquiry Manager, 02 9230 2843 http://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/staysafe