9 April 2024

MEDIA RELEASE

Inquiry announcement and call for submissions

Extension of closing date for submissions to the inquiry into specific health services and specialist care in remote, rural and regional NSW

The Select Committee on Remote, Rural and Regional Health has extended the closing date for submissions to its current inquiry until Friday 26 April.

The Committee is examining the implementation of recommendations made in a <u>2022 Legislative</u> <u>Council (LC) committee report</u>, and is currently focusing on recent government actions to improve the delivery of specific health services and specialist care in regional NSW. It follows from the Committee's work last year, which looked into workforce issues and workplace culture in the regional health system.

"The Committee is calling on stakeholders with experience in specialist health care in regional areas to make a submission, so we can understand what improvements have been made since the 2022 LC report", Committee Chair, Dr Joe McGirr MP said.

"The deadline for submissions is being extended by two weeks to ensure that people have enough time to prepare something. The Committee encourages all interested health care professionals, organisations and individuals with experience in rural health issues to contribute to this important inquiry".

This inquiry will examine services such as:

- Maternity services, obstetrics and paediatrics
- Patient transport and paramedicine
- Indigenous health services
- Mental health services, and drug and alcohol services
- Aged care and palliative care
- Cancer care and oncology
- Other specialist care and allied health services

Submissions close on 26 April 2024. Stakeholders are advised that the Committee's focus is on the implementation of the LC Portfolio Committee No. 2 recommendations in relation to specialist services, and is not seeking submissions that comment on health outcomes more broadly.

Full terms of reference for the inquiry are available on the Committee's website.

Media contact: Dr Joe McGirr MP, Committee Chair, (02) 6921 1622

