

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES

Joint Standing Committee on the Office of the Valuer General

30 November 2023

MEDIA RELEASE

Committee on the Office of the Valuer General announces first review of the 58th Parliament

The parliamentary committee responsible for oversight of the office of the NSW Valuer General has announced it will hold its first annual review of the 58th Parliament in early 2024.

The Valuer General is an independent statutory officer appointed by the Governor of NSW to oversee the state's land valuation system. As part of its annual review, the Committee on the Office of the Valuer General will review the Valuer General's annual reports from 2021/22 and 2022/23, both of which can be found <a href="https://example.com/here/beneral/separation-reports/report

Committee Chair and Member for Ballina, Tamara Smith, said the annual General Meeting with the Valuer General is an important mechanism that allows Parliament to scrutinise administration of the land valuation system on behalf of landowners in New South Wales.

"As members of the Joint Standing Committee on the Office of the Valuer General, our role is to ensure the Valuer General has the resources and support to deliver a world class valuation system that is robust and transparent," Ms Smith said.

"The Committee is responsible for monitoring valuation methodologies, the arrangements under which valuation service contracts are entered into, and the standard of valuation services provided by contractors.

"While the Committee's functions do not extend to investigating or overturning a particular valuation of a specific parcel of land, we welcome community feedback on broad or systemic issues relating to land valuation in NSW.

"We look forward to a productive discussion with the Valuer General and agency staff during the Sixteenth General Meeting next year. The meeting is a public hearing and can be live streamed from the NSW Parliament's website."

A hearing schedule for the Sixteenth General Meeting is being finalised and will soon be available on the Committee's webpage.

Committee members: Adj Prof Tamara Smith MP (Chair), Dr Hugh McDermott MP (Deputy Chair), Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC, Hon Scott Farlow MLC, Mr David Mehan MP

Media contact: Tamara Smith MP, 6686 7522