

8 May 2020

Media Release

Committee to consider safeguards and remedies for reputational impact from the ICAC's investigations

On 8 May 2020, the Committee on the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) adopted a new inquiry into the reputational impact on an individual being adversely named in the ICAC's investigations.

The Committee will examine the adequacy of current safeguards and remedies to protect individuals from impacts to their reputation from being adversely named in an ICAC investigation. The Committee will also consider whether an exoneration protocol is needed and if other jurisdictions have practices that could be used in New South Wales.

"The Committee is aware of individuals concerned about the impact to their reputation from being adversely named in the ICAC's investigations and a lack of suitable remedies to address their concerns," said Committee Chair, Mrs Tanya Davies MP.

"The Committee acknowledges that a number of safeguards and remedies are already in place. These include requirements or procedures of the ICAC and the role of the Inspector. However, the Committee will consider whether further measures are needed," said Mrs Davies MP.

In November 2019, the Committee tabled a report in NSW Parliament, *Review of the 2017-2018 Annual Reports of the ICAC and the Inspector of the ICAC*. The Committee found that the reputational impact experienced by people named in investigations of the ICAC can be serious, and is not addressed fully by the available remedies. The Committee also found that an exoneration protocol is one possible remedy to address this issue.

The Committee has published a discussion paper to help stakeholders with writing their submissions. The discussion paper contains background information and provides more information around the issues. It is available on the NSW Parliament's website <u>here</u>.

Further information, including the inquiry's terms of reference and how to make a submission, can be found on the Committee's webpage <u>here</u>.

The closing date for submissions is Friday 31 July 2020.

MEDIA: Mrs Tanya Davies MP, Committee Chair – (02) 9834 2966