

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON ROAD SAFETY

MEDIA RELEASE

YOUNG DRIVER SAFETY

The Parliamentary Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety (Staysafe) has commenced an inquiry into Young Driver Safety and Education Programs.

Drivers aged 17-25 years continue to be overrepresented in fatal crashes, although in the five years to 2005 there has been an overall decline in the number of drivers involved in fatal car accidents.

According to data compiled by the RTA, young, primarily male drivers are involved in 26% of fatal crashes and 28% of all motor vehicle accidents. This is despite the fact that they constitute only 15% of all licence holders. The casualties that result not only affect the young drivers themselves, but vehicle passengers and other road users.

The Chair of the Staysafe Committee, Mr Geoff Corrigan, State Member for Camden, is concerned by these figures, and announced: "This is an opportunity for the Staysafe Committee to examine and make recommendations to address the underlying causes of the high incidence of young driver fatalities". "The Committee will also survey the availability and adequacy of appropriate driver education programs targeting this at risk group", Mr Corrigan said.

The following issues will be considered in the course of the Committee's inquiry:

- The incidence of road crashes involving young drivers;
- The major factors contributing to such accidents;
- Differences in driving behaviour and crash outcomes in urban and rural areas;
- The availability and appropriateness of diversionary programs for young driver offenders; and
- The effectiveness of young driver education programs.

Submissions to the inquiry are being sought from interested organisations and individuals. Submissions are sought by 30 November 2007, to be followed by public hearings conducted in the first quarter of 2008.

All written submissions should be forwarded to: The Committee Manager, Staysafe Committee, Parliament House, Macquarie Street, SYDNEY NSW 2000. Alternatively, submissions may be submitted electronically to: staysafe@parliament.nsw.gov.au.

Further information can be obtained by visiting the Committee website at <u>http://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/staysafe</u> or by contacting Mr Geoff Corrigan, Chairman, on (02) 4655 3333 or Mr Bjarne Nordin, Senior Committee Officer, on (02) 9230 2843.

28 September 2007