2 June 2016

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## ICAC Committee to inquire into ICAC Inspector's Report to the Premier: The Inspector's Review of the ICAC

The Chair of the Committee on the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC), Mr Damien Tudehope MP, today announced the Committee will conduct an inquiry regarding the ICAC Inspector's *Report to the Premier: The Inspector's Review of the ICAC*. The Inspector, the Hon David Levine AO RFD QC, delivered the report to the Premier on 12 May 2016.

"Mr Levine's report contains a number of recommendations for reform concerning the ICAC" said Mr Tudehope. "Following a request from the Premier, the Committee will consider and report on those issues".

A copy of the Inspector's report can be found at <a href="http://www.oiicac.nsw.gov.au/reports/">http://www.oiicac.nsw.gov.au/reports/</a>.

The Committee's inquiry will review the Inspector's report with particular regard to:

- the extent, nature and exercise of the ICAC's current powers and procedures including the rationale for and conduct of investigations and public hearings, and possible options for reform;
- 2) the current structure and governance of the ICAC, best practice models adopted by other integrity institutions, and possible options for reform;
- 3) the current oversight arrangements for the ICAC, including the role, powers and resourcing of the ICAC Inspector, and possible options for reform;
- 4) whether the outcome of legal action taken in response to the ICAC's corrupt conduct findings is adequately reflected on the public record; and possible options for reform; and
- 5) any other related matters.

The Committee is seeking submissions addressing the inquiry terms of reference by 22 July 2015.

For media comment, please contact Mr Damien Tudehope MP on (02) 9877 0266.

Further information about the inquiry, including information on how to lodge a submission, can be obtained by visiting the Committee's webpage at <a href="https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/icac">www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/icac</a> or by contacting Elspeth Dyer, Committee Manager, on (02) 9230 2214.