

INQUIRY INTO 2008 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ELECTIONS

Terms of reference for the committee

- (1) A Joint Standing Committee, to be known as the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters, be appointed.
- (2) The Committee inquire into and report upon such matters as may be referred to it by either House of the Parliament or a Minister that relate to:
 - (a) The following electoral laws:
 - (i) Parliamentary Electorates and Elections Act 1912 (other than Part 2);
 - (ii) Election Funding Act 1981; and
 - (iii) Those provisions of the *Constitution Act 1902* that relate to the procedures for, and conduct of, elections for members of the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council (other than sections 27, 28 and 28a);
 - (b) The administration of and practices associated with the electoral laws described at (a).
- (3) All matters that relate to (2) (a) and (b) above in respect of the 24 March 2007 state election, shall stand referred to the Committee for any inquiry the Committee may wish to make. The Committee shall report on the outcome of any such inquiry within 12 months of the date of this resolution being agreed to by both Houses.

Votes and Proceedings of the Legislative Assembly, Thursday 21 June 2007, entry no 13 (7) Legislative Council Minutes of Proceedings, No 13, Tuesday 26 June 2007, entry no 25

Terms of reference for the inquiry

All matters that relate to (2) (a) and (b) above in respect of the September 2008 local government elections are referred to the Committee for any inquiry the Committee may wish to make, including in relation to the costs of the 2008 local government elections.

The Committee is to report on the outcome of its inquiry by 2 March 2010*.

Letter from The Hon Nathan Rees MP, Premier to Chair, dated 2 March 2009

Committee Membership

Mr Robert Furolo (Chair)
The Hon Mick Veitch (Deputy Chair)
Mr Robert Coombs MP
(Australian Labor Party)
The Hon Diane Beamer MP
(Australian Labor Party)
The Hon Don Harwin MLC
(Liberal Party)
The Hon Jenny Gardiner MLC
(The Nationals)
Ms Lee Rhiannon MLC
(Greens)

^{*} In a letter from Premier received 16 March 2010 the final date for reporting was extended until 1 June 2010.