

## Minutes of Proceedings of the Legislation Review Committee (no. 8)

12.00 pm Monday 16 June 2008 Room 1136 Parliament House

## **Members Present**

The Hon AR Fazio, MLC Ms LA McMahon, MP Mr PR Pearce, MP The Hon RA Smith, MLC Mrs J Hopwood, MP The Hon RM Parker, MLC Mr AF Shearan, MP Mr RW Turner, MP

## Apologies

None

## **General Business**

1. Resolved, on the motion of Mr Turner, seconded by Mr Pearce:

That the Committee approve the Minutes of Proceedings of the Legislation Review Committee dated 2 June 2008. With one amendment , Ms Fazio added to apologies.

2. Resolved, on the motion of Mr Turner, seconded by Mrs Hopwood:

That the Committee authorise the publication of Minutes and their inclusion on website of minute extracts and their tabling with the next *Digest* tabled in session.

3. Resolved, on the motion of Mr Pearce, seconded by Mrs Parker:

That the Committee approve the reports on the following Bills (in globo):

- Appropriation Bill 2008
- Appropriation (Parliament) Bill 2008
- Appropriation (Special Offices) Bill 2008
- Children (Detention Centres) Amendment Bill 2008
- Community Infrastructure (Intergenerational) Fund Bill 2008
- Exotic Diseases of Animals Amendment Bill 2008
- Filming Related Legislation Amendment Bill 2008
- Firearms Bill 2008
- Marine Safety Amendment Bill 2008

- Shop Trading Bill 2008
- State Revenue and Other Legislation Amendment (Budget) Bill 2008
- Workers Compensation Legislation Amendment Bill 2008
- Regulations without a paper
- 4. Resolved, on the motion of Ms Fazio, seconded by Ms McMahon:

That the Committee approve the deletion of paragragh 26 of the draft report on the Children (Criminal Proceedings) Amendment Bill 2008.

5. Resolved, on the motion of Ms McMahon, seconded by Mr Turner:

That the Committee approve the amended report on the Children (Criminal Proceedings) Amendment Bill 2008.

6. Resolved, on the motion of Mr Turner, seconded by Ms McMahon:

That the Committee approve the report on the Coal and Oil Shale Mine Workers (Superannuation) Amendment Bill 2008.

7. Resolved, on the motion of Mr Pearce, seconded by Ms Parker:

That the Committee approve the report on the Courts and Crimes Legislation Amendment Bill 2008

8. Resolved on the motion of Mr Turner, seconded by Mrs Hopwood:

That the Committee approve the report on the Electricity Industry Restructure Bill 2008

9. Resolved on the motion of Mr Pearce, seconded by Mrs Parker:

That the Committee approve the report on the Independent Commission Against Corruption Amendment (Reporting Corrupt Conduct) Bill 2008

10. Resolved on the motion of Mr Pearce, seconded by Mrs Parker:

That the Committee approve the report on the Protected Disclosures Amendment (Supporting Whistleblowers) Bill 2008.

11. Resolved on the motion of Mrs Parker, seconded by Mr Pearce:

That the Committee approve the report on the Statute Law (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill 2008

12. Resolved on the motion of Mrs Parker, seconded by Mr Pearce:

That the Committee approve the report on the Western and Crown Lands Amendment (Special Purpose Leases) Bill 2008

13. Resolved on the motion of Mr Pearce, seconded by Mr Turner:

That the Legislation Review Digest No 8 of 2008 be tabled today.

14. Resolved on the motion of Mr Turner, seconded by Mrs Hopwood:

That the Report on the Scrutiny of Legislation Conference 2007 be tabled today.

15. Resolved on the motion of Mr Pearce, seconded by Mrs Hopwood:

That the tabling of the Annual Review 2006-07 be deferred to next meeting.

16. Resolved on the motion of Mr Pearce, seconded by Mrs Parker:

That the letter dated 16 June 2008 to the Minister for Planning regarding the Environmental Planning and Assessment Amendment Bill 2008 and the Building Professionals Amendment Bill 2008 be sent.

17. Resolved on the motion of Ms McMahon, seconded by Mr Pearce:

That the web link to the Legislation Review Digest be emailed to all Members and Staff on the day of tabling in addition to hard copies being sent.

- 18. The Committee noted with interest the Protecting Human Rights Conference to be held in Melbourne in October.
- 19. The Committee is to reconvene on Tuesday 24 June 2008 at 12:30pm.
- 20. The Committee adjourned at 12.28 pm

Committee Manager

Chair